SFH-Cover

香港製造的生存之道:數碼管理 • 智慧營運 • 堅持到底

Body

新冠肺炎持續反覆,限聚令放寬後又收緊,食品及餐飲企業的影響首當其衝。新佛香食品有限公司(壹品豆品)第二代掌舵人羅孟慶(Jeff)透露,早於疫情爆發初期已即時變陣,在一個月內建成新鮮及急凍食品網購平台,聯合本土新鮮製作及分銷食品行家的力量,緩衝消費者減少外出飲食對生意的打擊;同時改革公司營運流程、部署智慧營運方案,提升競爭力以應對未來挑戰。

豆品業重生後再尋出路

新佛香食品自1958年成立以來一直在香港專注豆品事業,近10多年更著力經營自家品牌「壹品豆品」,但一場疫情令其董事總經理再度審視品牌的可持續性。「本地豆品生產及供應食肆的利潤其實很低,其他公司會兼造涼茶、果汁等;但我們一直堅持致力豆製品,投資近千萬去革新生產機器及流程,並以自家品牌打響名堂,才建立出今天成果。但一場疫情卻令我們供應餐廳食肆的生意一落千丈,唯有即時開拓網上零售巿場,才有幸力保不失。」

SFH-Image6

「壹品鮮巿集」網購平台於2020年3月推出,現有近100個品牌的超過1,000款產品發售。平台上除豆品外亦有冰鮮肉類、急凍食品、新鮮蔬菜水果及烘焙材料等,迎合近期因限聚令而要在家煮食的家庭需要。「壹品鮮巿集」毋須上架費,公司正利用現有的3,000呎倉去存貨、及多達30架包括冷凍貨櫃在內的貨車去送貨,冀集結本地食品業界的力量「做大個餅」。「我們很少做廣告,寧願直接減價回饋消費者。運輸成本是業界其中一個重擔,所以希望大家共享資源,攤分成本,產品售價自然更便宜,最後便可讓顧客受惠,達到消費者、商戶、食品業界的三贏局面。」

贏在工業4.0的起跑線

SFH-image4

除網上巿場外,新佛香今年亦揭開新一章,就是引入智慧營運,將更多生產工序自動化,以保證質量,強化供應鏈管理。香港貨品編碼協會(GS1 HK)的智慧專業服務團隊(SPS)在此扮演著重要的支援角色。SPS為新佛香引入GS1全球標準、企業資源規劃(ERP)系統及重新設計供應鏈後,讓公司步上數碼轉型的起跑線;現時更進一步,應用人工智能及視像分析等科技投入智慧營運,讓管理人員實時掌握生產數據,例如檢測瓶蓋上有否清楚標明有效日期、計算各產品的產量等;這些新技術都有助避免過往因人手工序而產生的錯誤,提升質量。

GS1 HK同時推動工場安裝智能感應器,測量溫度、濕度、空氣質量及噪音等環境指標,確保質量及職業安全,亦設計出一款實時營運資訊圖表,讓工場人員掌握生產流程的表現和效能,協助公司更有效地進行分析、評估,甚至在發生事故前已經能夠及早採取行動。

「GS1 HK團隊在檢討及重新規劃我們的供應鏈流程後,大大提升了我們的營運效率,並為我們引入條碼標準、ERP系統及其他技術,讓公司數碼化升級轉型。

「我們未來會繼續與GS1 HK合作,有信心以智慧營運方案進一步強化業務、邁向工業4.0。GS1 HK是個中立可靠的盟友,助我們『Go Digital、Go Smart』,與我們攜手前行。」

SFH-Image1

「我認識GS1 HK已有10多年,我們由當年只有約40個員工的中小企茁壯成長,成為現時有100多人的公司,GS1 HK與我們風雨同路、一直進步,我覺得是商家邁向未來科技時代的橋樑。」

被問及公司的成功要素,Jeff強調4 點:「主要有賴同事們的毅力和堅持,在艱難時不離不棄;同時因為我們及時引進自動化及數碼化設備以改善業務流程,提升了品質及生產能力。我們品牌60多年來一直專注本地新鮮豆品製作,正切合現時香港人對本土品牌有著情意結的契機,我深信這些原因既鞏固了我們的根基,也是我們邁進未來智能時代的原動力。」

香港製造互相扶持

羅孟慶對香港製造業有著滿腔熱誠,正積極聯繫在本地擁有廠房及生產線的商家、籌備「香港製造協會」,期望業界能攜手擴充人脈、互相扶持、交流分享經驗,並締造合作機遇、共創雙贏,從而繼往開來、引領本地再工業化的新局面、新希望。

相關文章

食店研鎖水燒味即食包 以三頭馬車促增長
香港食物安全中心於2021年的「全港性食物消費量調查」報告顯示,燒味鹵味位居港人最愛次位;另一調查推算港人每年進食66,233噸燒味,數量驚人。難怪唐順興家禽(香港…
越「疫」越有機 全靠誠信、專業、堅持、靈活
面對連續兩年的疫情,香港消費者愈加明白健康的可貴,因而更願意花錢在有機及天然食材上,冀提升抵抗力。在香港紮根逾24年的源生坊有機功能產品專門店(源生坊)亦因而受惠…
子承父業有團火 為理想開啟第二人生
由主修機械工程、轉系到電子工程及計算機工程,郭錦記第二代傳人郭宇鈿(Martin)是個大膽果斷、不只滿足於現狀的人:在雙學位畢業後他只短暫涉足IT界,便毅然投身金融業…

置頂

SFH-Cover

The Survival Kit of “Made-in-HK” Brand: Go Digital • Go Smart • Go Perseverance

Body

As the city battles a new wave of COVID-19 infection, social distancing measures are tightened again, hitting hard on the food and foodservice industry. Reacting quickly since the beginning of the contagion, Jeff Law, second-generation owner of Sun Fat Heung Food (Top Soya), started an online store in a month’s time, gathering fresh and frozen food produce from local manufacturers and food distributors. The e-shop aims to mitigate the loss as consumers dine out less often. In addition, the company has undergone processes transformation and deployed Smart Operations solutions in hope to enhance competitiveness and tackle future challenges.

Reviving from Ashes and Finding New Path

Established in 1958, Sun Fat Heung Food Products Ltd. has been concentrating on the B2B supply of soy products, and has devoted to building the “Top Soya” brand in the consumer market more than 10 years ago. Triggered by the outbreak, the company’s Managing Director started to reassess the brand’s sustainability, “The margin of producing and supplying soy products to restaurants is in fact very little, but unlike other companies, we never diversify our productionto making herbal tea or juices. I think our success today was found on our commitment to producing high quality soy products - we’ve invested nearly HKD 10 million to transform our production machinery and processes, and market our own brand progressively. However, the pandemic has brought down our B2B business in a brutal way, we can only find new markets online to keep our business alive.”

SFH-Image6

The e-shop “Topsoya Market” was launched in March 2020, now with over 1,000 products from 100 brands listed on the platform. To respond to the growing demand for cooking from stay-at-home families in Hong Kong, on top of soy products, the platform sells chilled meat, frozen food, fresh vegetables, baking ingredients and many other food items as well. Leveraging the existing 3,000-square feet warehouse for stock-keep, and the current 30+ refrigerated trucks for delivery, the platform requires no listing fee in order to encourage more companies to join and increase market penetration. “We seldom advertise, and would rather cut price for our end users. By using shared resources to keep the cost down, especially for the transportation costs, we can offer cheaper price for consumers, creating a triple-win situation for consumers, brands and the food industries.”

Triumph Begins with Industry 4.0

SFH-image4

Online market aside, Sun Fat Heung is turning a new leaf with the introduction of Smart Operations, to automate production processes for better quality assurance and enhanced supply chain management. The Smart Professional Service (SPS) team from GS1 Hong Kong (GS1 HK) has played a pivotal role in the new chapter. The SPS first brought in GS1 global standards, ERP system and supply chain redesign to the company, opening the infinite possibilities of digital transformation. The company further deploys Smart Operations by using video analytics and artificial intelligence applications to capture production data, for example checking if expiry dates are clearly stamped on the bottle cap, or counting the number of different products manufactured. The processes were used to be done by staff manually, which was inefficient, with inaccurate results produced sometimes, but now has improved significantly.

Advised by GS1 HK, smart sensors are installed in the production area in order to capture environmental index like temperature, humidity, air quality and noise, to safeguard product quality and occupational health. The SPS team designed an all-in-one dashboard to enable users visually track and display the key process performance, discrepancy and environmental data points on the go, helping the company to better analyse and proactively act before issues arise.

“After the thorough review and supply chain redesign done by GS1 HK team, we realised a major efficiency uplift. The barcode standard, ERP system and other IT applications have upgraded and transformed our operations with digitalisation.”

“I feel confident in our future collaboration on Smart Operations, which will help us strengthen business and march ahead to Industry 4.0. GS1 Hong Kong is a neutral, trusted ally to help us ‘Go Digital, Go Smart’, and grow stronger together.”

SFH-Image1

“I have known GS1 HK for more than a decade. Our company was a modest SME with some 40 staff back then, growing to more than 100 people business right now. GS1 HK has stayed with us through thick and thin, I believe it is the bridge for any company to the future technological era.”

Jeff contributed 4 key factors for its company success, “Thanks to our colleagues, their unwavering commitment and tenacity are our greatest asset. Right technology for right workflow at right time have helped us enhance our quality and production in a big way. We have been focusing on the soy products in Hong Kong for more than 60 years, and have been riding on the wave of Hong Kongers’ preference for local brands, I believe all of these factors can further solidify our foundation, paving the way towards the intelligent era.”

Mutual Support for the Made-in-Hong-Kong

Passionate about Hong Kong's manufacturing industry, Jeff has been actively contacting local factories and production lines to setup the "Hong Kong Manufacturing Association". He hopes that the industry can come together to support each other and network, exchange and share experiences, and co-create opportunities for a win-win outcome, in hope to revive the former glory and lead into the re-industrialization era.

Related article

From New Immigrant to Nobel Laureate: A Hong Kong Tale of Perseverance and Triumph
Located at Tin Wan, Come In Enterprises’ office looks clean and modest, just like…
20 Years of Entrepreneurship with Ingenuity and Quick-wit
As cooking and dining at home becomes the new normal, a great variety of food and…
Cantonese Culinary and the Succession of a Canton Opera Legend
Promoting Quality HK Local Brand   Andrew Leung, Director of Diamond…

Top