纪念条码50载 数码续航下世代

Body

50-Years-GTIN-Logo2021年3月31日标志着GTIN诞生50週年。1971年,商界领袖聚首一堂,包括美国亨氏公司(Heinz)、General Mills、Kroger和Bristol Myers Company等,以放下分歧、共建更好全球巿场为信念,同意一致使用全球贸易货品编码(GTIN或简称条码)的独有标识作产品识别。

时至今日,条码仍然是世界上最可信的标志之一,每日全球扫描次数多达60亿次。

要说GS1条码的发展是奠定现今全球数码化商贸的基础并不夸张。这是国际商贸史上至关重要、但却鲜为人知的事情,一个有关巿场竞争对手携手合作去解决商界重大难题的故事。

观赏条码50年的故事:

新一代条码
业界若要符合21世纪的巿场遊戏规则,并满足消费者对更多更好的产品资料要求,便必须再次携手协作、应用载有更多数据的新一代条码。条码将与时并进,开拓出新里程。

新一代条码(如二维码)能储存更庞大资讯量,让消费者获取可靠讯息,并有能力重塑新世代的全球商贸。举例,新一代条码能让消费者获悉产品是否含有致敏原、是否有机,或其碳排放资讯等,最终有助消费者对所买产品更有信心、更有好感。

商界对手在半世纪以前曾抛弃区分,以条码引发一场商业革命。到了今天,我们必须再次发挥当年的合作精神及巿场领导优势,推动另一场变革,应对下世纪发展。

新一代条码快将公布,请密切留意。

查询GS1條碼的效益

查询


置顶

Celebrating 50 Years of Collaboration - and the Next Century of Digitalisation

Body

50-Years-GTIN-Logo31 March, 2021 marks the 50th anniversary of the GTIN. In 1971, industry leaders in commerce, including Heinz, General Mills, Kroger and Bristol Myers Company, put aside their differences and remade global markets for the better, by agreeing to use a unique identifier for product identification - Global Trade Item Number - or known as the “GTIN”.  

Today, GS1 barcode is scanned over six billion times every day and remains one of the most trusted symbols in the world.

It is no exaggeration to say that the development of the GTIN set the stage for global, digitalised commerce. This is one of the greatest, untold stories in the history of international business, a remarkable coming together of fierce competitors to solve real business challenges.

Watch our 50-year-anniversary GTIN story:

Next Generation Barcodes
To meet the needs of the 21st century economy, and address consumers’ demand for more and better product information, industry must once again collaborate to deploy new technologies, including data-rich, next-generation barcodes. It is time to bring barcodes to the next level.

Developments towards next generation barcodes, for example QR codes, which can hold vastly more information, should be used to empower consumers with trusted information and reshape global commerce in the new era. Their use, for example, can tell consumers if a product contains allergens, if it is organic, and information on its carbon footprint. Ultimately, this provides consumers with a greater level of trust and loyalty relating to the products they buy.  

Half a century ago market rivals convened and triggered a revolution in commerce, with GTIN. Now, we have an opportunity and a need to replicate that spirit of cooperation and leadership to meet the needs of a new century.

Stay tuned, the next-gen barcode will come very soon.

Learn more about the benefits of GS1 barcodes

Enquiry


Top