PnG-image-Cover

百年企業華麗轉身 投入工業4.0浪潮

Body

疫情持續大半年仍未消退,不但徹底改變消費巿場,許多公司的供應鏈亦因而經歷重大變化。P&G在2020年10月公布的上季業績顯示,家庭、個人及家居護理等多項業務都受惠於居家消費及著重衞生等趨勢帶動而錄得增長,中國地區的整體更達雙位數增長。P&G大中華區供應鏈總裁陳宇(Jeffrey)表示,集團擁有完善的企業持續營運計(Business Continuity Planning),其中強大靈活的供應鏈網絡在是次危機中發揮著重要角色,幫助集團在材料供應方面保持穩定,更演化出更多原廠直發的供應鏈模式,迎合巿場於電子商貿上的可持續發展方向。

PnG image1

機會留給有預備的公司

擁有逾8,000人的P&G大中華區團隊從疫情爆發至今,仍保持著零感染的紀錄,全賴集團周詳的工場防疫惜施,包括公司於疫情初期已在中國內地即時買下口罩生產線,生產足夠口罩滿足員工及其他內部需求。

疫情前,P&G已組成供應鏈計劃運籌中心,將中國內地的8家工廠、數十個合同加工廠、4,000多家物料供應商和渠道的庫存和補貨情況,以數碼方式統一管理:簡單而言就是將中國內地不同位置的原材料數量、生產效能、物流、倉庫情況等所有資料整合到一個系統中心,經分析後讓決策人員釐定以最低成本、最短時間達到最具效益的方法將貨品供應全國巿場。

Jeffrey稱:「中心在疫情初期第一時間作出回應,在中國不同地區適時調配資源,發揮極大作用。我們亦建設了供應商品質管制體系,透過非常嚴謹的標準、鉅細無遺地盤查所有供應商貨品,確保品質達到一致的高水平。最終我們僅用了約2個星期已將營運恢復到正常狀態。」

​​Png image2

智能 + 數據 + 數碼科技= 千錘百「鏈」

Jeffrey預期消費者的網購習慣和對健康的關注,在未來只會有增無減,同時會要求更多元化產品功能或個人化產品特徵,對交貨的時間要求更高。為應對這些趨勢,P&G已協調妥當各個新零售的供應鏈,除了平常的超巿、零售店供應外,亦涵蓋網購節及直播帶貨等模式所帶來的各種付運送貨要求,讓供應鏈變得更有效。

「我們將這項部署安排叫作『千場千鏈』。在新產品推出時、或像雙十一的電商促銷期間,與供應藥房、商店的情況截然不同,所以我們都會因應不同銷售點、塑造不一樣的供應鏈,去配合集團全渠道零售的策略。」

「由於不同銷售點的複雜性,我們會利用大數據分析、人工智慧等智能技術將生產自動化,並以數碼科技將供應鏈智能化,創造出彈性靈活的供應流程,讓我們迅速回應瞬息萬變的巿場需要。」

Png image 3

P&G在2019年已宣佈將廣州的工廠升級為全新智慧製造中心,積極推進智能製造,採用更多傳感器技術、物聯網、圖像識別、5G網絡技術來提升產品品質,並使工作環境變得更高效。至於針對市場個人化產品的需求,集團也主動引入3D打印、數碼印刷、彈性供應鏈平台等來應對。

數據是建構數碼化供應鏈的基礎,所以P&G正全面應用各項數據,由自身供應鏈的原材料數量、生產流程、物流等數據,到零售商的銷量、流量、庫存、以至消費者在線上線下對產品的各項評論等,全面優化各項供應鏈營運。公司希望把所有數據透過統一的數據架構進行整理分析,從而得出更精準的巿場供求大局。管理層便可以全面、實時地優化供應鏈的決策,以便配合不同營運環境,無論是大賣場或個人社交網店,去度身訂造不同的供應情況。

建立可持續的循環經濟

PnG-Image-5

對P&G而言,供應鏈不僅是提升效能、滿足巿場需求的根本,亦是推動循環經濟、可持續發展的關鍵。「我們依據不同銷售渠道設計出更短的供應鏈,減省了許多不必要的損耗,不僅節約成本,更重要是減少大量物料及其對環境的影響,締造更綠色經濟。」

過往集團會將大批貨品由工廠送到分銷商、再拆件送到批發商、再分批送到零售商,當中涉及的包裝物料數量驚人;但在過去3年,P&G通過與客戶深度合作,協同倉配網絡,推進原廠直發,每年便節省超過5,500萬個紙箱包裝、超過1.7億個氣泡袋,並可減少60%-70%以上的包裝破損、提升10%物流效率,更將客戶之間的距離縮短了1/3。

PnG-Image-6

「我們在10年前建造太倉的廠房和辦公大樓時,已經按照LEED標準進行設計實施,並且100%使用了風能等可再生能源,實現『關燈生產』及零廢水排放;未來我們會繼續以智慧營運去優化供應鏈,推進高效低碳的業務運作。」

憑藉卓越的供應鏈體系和管理,該位處太倉的P&G工廠被世界經濟論壇(WEF)選為「全球製造業燈塔工廠」-即善用工業4.0尖端科技而卓有成效的領先企業,更連續多年被國際諮詢組織Gartner封為「Supply Chain Master」。

「現時全球化格局急速演變,既有危亦有機,我相信工業4.0是未來的大勢,唯有推動數碼化及智慧營運、發揮數據的力量,才能有力在巿場爭勝、不被淘汰。」

作為由香港貨品編碼協會(GS1 HK)成立的ECR香港委員,Jeffrey非常支持本會在優化供應鏈流程及推動業界積極應用科技上所作出的努力,並認同GS1 HK的建樹、為零售及快速消費品行業帶來極大裨益。他亦指出內地消費者對追蹤溯源及真品認證的要求日益提升,對個人保健用品的法規監管更是越來越嚴格,所以運用QR碼去進行追蹤追溯及驗証真偽亦趨普及,建議其他進軍內地的公司仿效。


置頂

PnG-image-Cover

Century-old Brand Mastering Transformation and Banking on Industry 4.0

Body

The unceasing COVID-19 contagion has completely reshaped the consumer market and many businesses’ supply chains. Driven by the growing demands for anti-pandemic supplies and stay-at-home trends, P&G posted a surge in sales on segments like family care, personal cleansing, home care, with a double-digit sales growth in China, as its fiscal report in October 2020 showed. Jeffrey Chen, President of Greater China Product Supply of Procter & Gamble (China) Ltd., highlighted it is a result of the company’s robust business continuity planning, and shared how it confronted the crisis with an extensive and agile supply chain ecosystem, not only to ensure a stable supply of materials, but also helps breed a direct-supply-to-customer supply chain model for e-com to promote a more sustainable development in the future.

PnG image1

Opportunity Comes to Those that are Prepared

With stringent anti-epidemic measures in place, P&G has recorded “zero infection” of its 8,000-crew in Greater China since the outbreak. One of the measures includes acquiring several face mask production lines in Mainland China at an early stage to ensure sufficient supply to employees and its business partners.

P&G has been building a centralised supply chain planning and optimization centre long before the crisis, to digitalise and streamline the inventory and replenishment management of its 8 manufacturing plants, dozens of contract factories and more than 4,000 materials suppliers and sales channels. The centre aims to consolidate all supply chain-related information, for example quantity of raw materials, production efficiency and logistics data, warehouse conditions, etc., at different locations across Greater China and put into one system, which ensures strong customer service and cost-efficient supply all over the country.

“The center has helped us optimise our resources in different parts of China and realised zero-hour response as issues unfolded. We also have a supplier quality assurance system in place that champions consistency and world-class quality standard for all supplies. Hence our operation had resumed to normal after only 2 weeks of disruption.”

​​Png image2

Personalisation at Scale with Smart Tech, Data and Digitalisation

Along with growing consumer demand for diversified, personalised product and timely delivery, Jeffrey expects the online shopping and health-consciousness trend will continue to rise. To address these changes in new retail, P&G’s supply chain has been optimised to effectively handle the sudden increase in deliveries brought by online shopping festivals and live commerce, besides the day-to-day logistics requirements by supermarkets and retail shops.

“With flexible manufacturing and customization, we are able to create different supply chains catered to different point of sales, especially during the online deal events such as ‘Double 11’, which share no resemblance to the supply situation in pharmacies and retail shops. This meets the needs for our omni-channel strategy.”

“To cope with the complexity of varying point of sales, we need to use smart technologies like big data analytics and artificial intelligence to automate production; we are also developing a smart and agile supply chain to help us better respond to the market dynamics.”

Png image 3

Aspired to lead in the realm of smart production, P&G has initiated a transformation project to its Guangzhou Plant and Distribution center last year, planning to adopt more sensor technologies, IoT, image recognition and 5G network technologies to enhance product quality and work efficiency. The company has also introduced 3D printing, digital printing and a scalable supply chain platform to address the needs for custom-made products.

Data serves as the foundation for supply chain digitalisation. P&G captures a wealth of data, covering the amount of raw materials, production processes and logistics data, sales volumes, throughput and inventory level of different retailers, consumers’ rating & reviews online and offline, and among others to optimise their supply chain. These data are consolidated in an integrated system to provide more accurate demand and supply forecast. With the big picture of different operation environments, executives can thereby make real-time decisions tailored to each particular market, no matter for a sales outlet or a social commerce store.

Moving Towards a Sustainable Circular Economy

PnG-Image-5

Optimising supply chain is not only vital to enhance competitiveness and satisfy market demands, but also critical to develop a circular, sustainable economy. “We have scaled our supply chains based on different sales channels and have reduced a lot of wastage. Besides cutting cost, we have significantly lessened the impact to the environment and helped foster a greener economy.”

The amount of packaging materials used along P&G’s supply chain in the past, from distributors, wholesaler, retailers, end users, was massive. The situation changed in the past 3 years: 55 million of carton boxes and 1,700 million of bubble bags have been saved by using ship-in-original-container, or direct-supply-to-customer approach. The delivery arrangement also helps reduce 60%-70% of damage to the packaging, enhance 10% of logistics efficiency and shorten one-third of distance from the source to customer.

PnG-Image-6

“10 years ago when we built the Taicang office buildings and factories, we have followed the LEED standards and used 100% renewable energy. We also achieved ‘light-off production’ and zero sewage discharge. In the future, we will capitalise on smart operations to sustain our supply chain and operation as pollutants free as possible.”

Heralded as an excellent supply chain system model and management, the P&G factory in Taicang is welcome by the World Economic Forum (WEF) into the “Global Lighthouse Network” – a group of advanced manufacturers that shows leadership in applying the technologies of the Fourth Industrial Revolution. Gartner, an industry consulting firm, also named P&G one of its Supply Chain Masters for several consecutive years.

"The rapidly-changing globalisation trend has brought us both opportunities and challenges. In any case, I believe Industry 4.0 is the tide that won’t stop. Digitalisation, smart operations and the ability to harness the power of data, are the only ways to win and avoid being obsolete."

As a member of the Efficient Consumer Response (ECR) Hong Kong, a joint industry forum setup by GS1 Hong Kong, Jeffrey supports the forum’s initiatives and efforts to promote the adoption of supply chain management best practices and technologies, recognising the forum’s contribution to the betterment of retail and FMCG industries. Some of which include traceability and product authentication, which are becoming increasingly important for Mainland Chinese consumers. Jeffrey observes, as tightened regulations are placed over personal healthcare products, consumers using QR codes for traceability and authentication are becoming popular, so he advises companies aiming at Mainland China market to follow suit.


Top