Swpie-Cover

以安全之名 清洁用品品牌助全城抗疫

Body

疫情爆发,家居清洁产品需求大增,威宝(香港)有限公司(SWIPE)董事总经理张天文(Timothy)表示,SWIPE立足香港近50年,一直以安全、多用途产品着称,用家对其杀菌能力有信心,所以疫情期间产品销量与去年同期比较上升约30%,而网上销量亦有逾3倍的显着增长。他指未来会在生产供应、产品类别、巿场拓展、售后服务等范畴上继续强化。他相信不论顺境逆境,只要抓紧适当时机,便能让公司循序渐进地发展。

NASA研发 走入平常百姓家

在本地屹立约半世纪的SWIPE,源于美国太空总署与产品开发者共同研制用作清洁太空穿梭机的配方,在1971年引进香港后,产品先以直销形式发售,其后威宝获得特许经营权,但品牌持有人多年后却卖盘,Timothy便看准机会、于2012年全资收购SWIPE的商标及配方。除香港外,Timothy亦把握中国及东南亚巿场机遇,逐步在中国内地、台湾、新加坡及新西兰等地拓展。现时产品的原料主要由外国进口、于厦门厂房生产,Timothy指现时生产线已达饱和,所以在浙江另筹生产线,以满足多个巿场的需求。 「现时中国内地的销量佔整体约三份之一,主要在华南地区及华东主要城巿如杭州、上海有售,我相信随着中国内部需求增加、以及不分边界的网购趋势,SWIPE的产品巿佔率会稳步上扬,所以新生产线对我们发展非常重要。

Swpie-image-1

口碑载道 发掘奇妙用途

Timothy表示现时产品系列中以红威宝最畅销,除了品质上的优势外,原来亦有机缘巧合因素。「消委会在2018年曾推出测试报告,精选出红威宝为『洗洁精王』之一,此后顾客便口耳相传,成为SWIPE最好卖产品。」

贴心服务亦是SWIPE成功的另一重要因素。「SWIPE为用家提供的是清洁家居方案、而非单只是产品。我们在YouTube建立频道去讲解如何清洁不同物件,同时有专责同事在Facebook、电话、电邮等渠道回应用家各项疑难杂症。我们亦主动开设WhatsApp群组招揽目标用家如家庭主妇等,定期为他们提供优惠。」

Timothy笑言:「有顾客向我们反映蓝威宝是蟑螂克星,原来因为蓝威宝能溶解蟑螂腹部的油脂、令其窒息致死,达到用杀虫水同样效果呢。」品质至上、以消费者为中心的服务,相信便是SWIPE连续7年获颁「贴心企业」的原因。

Swpie-image-2

逆境求进 化危为机

SWIPE过往每年都会推出新产品,以多元化组合渗透巿场。「今年计划推出的新品,因物料短缺而价格被拉高、且物流紧张令计划推迟。」

危中有机,Timothy在疫情期间却发掘出新巿场机会。「年初我与家人去澳洲旅行,谁知香港疫 情刚爆发,其后与家人转往新西兰,巧合地发现当地一直以水货形式、在中华超巿内发售威宝产 品,经考察后便觉得当地有商机,所以现已与当地合作商户磋商好销售安排,先以当地华人为目 标去开拓新巿场。」

「此行程亦有意外收获:新西兰出名山明水秀,当地有商户生产可生物降解、以有机竹纤维制作的湿纸巾,我便将其引入bb威宝系列中,务求带给客人更贴心及更环保的产品,不少客人亦对此新产品表示满意;未来计划推出婴孩用洗头、沐浴产品,建立更全面的婴儿用品系列。」

30载同行 共同进退

威宝自1990年起已是香港货品编码协会(GS1 HK)的会员,同时自1999年便加入「通商易」,Timothy认为GS1 HK一直与时并进。

「GS1的国际条码让我们营运团队轻易识别产品、迅速发货,亦让第三方物流公司凭条码扫描便利仓存管理、提升效率。 我得悉现时条码更具备能让消费者网上准确搜寻、格价、分享、购买等功能,将品牌与消费者更紧密连系,相信这有助SWIPE网上发展。」

「『通商易』方案简化了公司处理订单及发票程序,提升员工效率及准确度。除了超巿、百货公司外,我知道HKTVmall及其他电商平台都已应用方案,方便B2B接单及收款等工作、强化营运管理,所以我会鼓励其他中小商户加盟,使业务自动化,支持网上业务拓展及增长。」

作为GS1 HK中小企业谘询委员会的成员,Timothy期望与不同行业的中小企分享交流,并 透过促进与政府沟通,提升中小企竞争力及效率,让中小企逆境求进、砥砺前行。


置顶

Swpie-Cover

Home Safe Home: Household-cleaning Brand Stands with the City Against COVID-19

Body

As demand spiked for household cleaning products fuelled by the coronavirus, Timothy Cheung, Managing Director of SWIPE (Hong Kong) Ltd., said the company’s products, known for its safety and versatility for almost 50 years since it first set foot in Hong Kong, has been highly sought after and confided in for their disinfectant capabilities. He cited sales volume has recorded a 30% year-on-year growth, with a staggering 300% surge in online business performance. The company is prudently enhancing the breadth and depth of its supply, product portfolio, new market development and customer service. He believed seizing the most opportune moment is the key for any company to evolve and thrive, no matter in good times or bad times.

NASA Co-Invention Stumbled into Common Household

Introduced into Hong Kong in 1971, the half-a-century-old brand was originated from SWIPE in the US, which invented the SWIPE Miracle Cleaner for the NASA Mercury Space Programme. Using a direct selling approach at the beginning, the brand was franchised to SWIPE (Hong Kong) for local dealership later. The moment came when the brand owner tried to sell off the company, Timothy took advantage of the opportunity and acquired the company’s trademark and formula in 2012. Since then, he has continued to capitalise on the rising prosperity in China and South East Asia, expanding steadily from Hong Kong to Mainland China, Taiwan, Singapore and New Zealand. With the major raw materials imported from the US and assembly line in Xiamen manufacturing plant, Timothy revealed the existing production lines no longer fulfill the multi-market demands, and is expecting a new plant in operation soon in Zhejiang. “The sales volume in China takes up one-third of our business, mainly from the South China region and major Eastern cities like Hangzhou and Shanghai. I believe the escalating China local demand and borderless online shopping trend will further drive the growth of SWIPE products, a new production line is therefore critical to our future roadmap.”

Swpie-image-1

Word-of-mouth Publicity and Miraculous Use Uncovered

Red SWIPE is the best-selling product series among the portfolio, Timothy cited. First-class quality aside, the product’s popularity is somewhat by chance. “The Consumer Council published a test report in 2018 and selected Red SWIPE as one of the "Dish-washing Champion". Customers helped spread the words and so it becomes SWIPE number one item.”

Caring customer service is another success factor for SWIPE. “SWIPE is offering household cleaning solutions, not just products. We have a YouTube channel that show users ways to clean different objects, and have designated staff to respond to users’ questions and problems via Facebook, phone, email. We are also using WhatsApp to recruit target users like housewives to offer discounts on a regular basis.”

“Customers had told us before the Blue SWIPE is the “cockroach nemesis”, so we found out the product can dissolve the grease on the cockroach and suffocate them to death, as effective as an insect spray.” Championing quality, consumer-centric services are some of the core reasons for SWIPE to be crowned “Caring Company” in 7 consecutive years.

Swpie-image-2

Rowing Upstream and Turning Crisis into Opportunity

The company used to launch new product every year to enlarge market share with diversified product range. “We postponed the new product launch this year because there was higher cost driven by material shortage and stretched logistics arrangement.”

Even then, Timothy discovered new market opportunity amidst the coronavirus crisis. “I was travelling with family to Australia as the coronavirus outbreak in Hong Kong took place earlier this year. We moved to New Zealand later and just happened to find the local Chinese supermarkets are selling SWIPE products using parallel imports. After looking into the market potentials, I set up domestic sales arrangement with local business partners, aiming for the local Chinese customers as a start.”

“The trip has extra rewards: as New Zealand is known for its pure water and air, I found a local merchant producing bio-degradable, organic bamboo fibre wipes that meets our requirements, so I included in our baby SWIPE product series, striving to offer more environmental-friendly products that customers need, and they are happy about it. We plan to launch baby shampoo and body wash in future to develop a complete baby product portfolio.” Walking

Side by Side for 30 Years, for Better, for Worse

SWIPE has been a GS1 Hong Kong (GS1 HK) member since 1990 and ezTRADE member since 1999, Timothy agreed the organization has been evolving with times. “GS1 global barcode has been helping our team to identify products and accelerate B2B order fulfillment, and enabling third-party logistics supplier to facilitate warehouse management and enhance efficiency with a simple scan. As I realise barcodes today can facilitate shopping experience from searching, comparing prices, sharing, to ordering and more, I believe these functions are essential to SWIPE’s online business development as they can connect us better with our consumers.”

As a member of GS1 HK SMEs Advisory Board, Timothy hopes to network and exchange with SMEs from other trades, and facilitate communications with the government to enhance SMEs competitiveness and efficiency, striving ahead with renewed perseverance.

Related article

Cantonese Culinary and the Succession of a Canton Opera Legend
Promoting Quality HK Local Brand Andrew Leung, Director of Diamond Restaurant,…
From New Immigrant to Nobel Laureate: A Hong Kong Tale of Perseverance and Triumph
Located at Tin Wan, Come In Enterprises’ office looks clean and modest, just like…
Cantonese Culinary and the Succession of a Canton Opera Legend
Promoting Quality HK Local Brand   Andrew Leung, Director of Diamond…

Top