常见问题

Title

一般申请条码查询

1. 如何申请EAN条形码 ?有什么注意事项?

如需申请EAN条形码,须先申请成为GS1 HK全面编码会员,按会籍要求准备所需文件及费用。

详情可按此查看

2. 成为GS1 HK 会员就可以取得EAN-13 条形码吗?

只有GS1 HK 全面编码会员才获授权使用EAN-13条形码。

详情可按此查看

3. 申请成为GS1 HK会员需要什么资格?

只要持有有效之香港商业登记证书便可申请成为GS1 HK会员。

按此查看申请全面编码会员详情。

4. 申请条形码是一次性付款吗?

申请条形码服务需要支付一次性的入会费用和年度会藉费用。会员需要每年更新会藉以保持服务有效性。

5. 每个申请可以获编配多少个EAN条形码?

每个全面编码会员可获编配1,000个EAN条形码。

Title

成功注册GS1 条形码后 (即已成为GS1 HK 会员)

1. 成功申请条形码后会收到确认文件吗?

成功申请条形码并成为GS1 HK会员后,本会将以电邮发出以下文件:

  1. 会籍确认信连被编配之GS1公司前缀
  2. 会员证书(如适用)
  3. 网上帐户登入资料
  4. 发票收据

2. 获取GS1公司前缀后,如何生成13位数字条形码(GTIN-13)?

在获取GS1公司前缀,请先登入GS1 HK会员平台,并进入BarcodePlus页面,按指示登记所需的产品数据,按”提交”后便获取13位数字条形码(GTIN-13) 。

3. 获取13位数字条形码(GTIN-13) 后,如何转化成条形码图像及打印条形码卷标?

在获取13位数字条形码(GTIN-13) 后,可直接委托印刷公司转化成条形码图像(EAN-13),并打印条形码标签,您亦可考虑直接打印条形码(EAN-13)在产品包装上。

如有需要,可参考本会网站的供货商合作伙伴列表

4. 在哪里可以获得GS1条形码的知识/应用/培训?

GS1 HK每月均举办一次条形码培训班,以提供条形码知识和讲解其应用程序,所有GS1 全面编码会员可免费参与。

详情可按此浏览了解更多有关GS1 HK 的活动。

Title

GS1 条形码 / 标准

1. UPC-A 和UPC-E 是否能在北美以外地区使用?

可以的。GS1标准是参考美国UPC标准发展而成的,因此所有GS1标准均能识别 UPC 条形码,而UPC-A 及 UPC-E条形码可完全与GS1 标准兼容。美国和加拿大使用UPC-A 及 UPC-E条形码的公司,其货品也可以获得全世界其他地区辨识。

2. 美国/加拿大的公司之扫瞄系统可否辨识EAN-13 条形码?

GS1美国已定立由2005年1月1日起所有公司均须采用能够配合GTIN-13编码的系统。然而,小部份美国及加拿大公司可能仍然采用未能配合GTIN-13编码的系统,在此情况下,会员可能需要使用GTIN-12编码的UPC-A或 UPC-E条形码。

3. 是否可以从编码的前缀识别货品的生产地?

不可以。GS1编码的前缀代表发出该编码予当地注册企业的编码组织所属国家或地区,而有关企业的货品可能在世界其他地方生产。举例说,由香港货品编码协会所发出的编码均以’489’为前缀,但会员货品的生产地不一定在香港。因此,货品前缀不一定代表其生产地。

4. 条形码中是否有包括货品的说明及价格?

一般贴附在货品上的条形码,是没有商品说明和价格的。条形码本身只代表其底部的一组编码,用以准确地识辨货品;商品本身的数据则储存在计算机的数据库内。唯一例外的情况是用于可变动重量货品的GTIN-13 及GTIN-12编码,以及折扣优惠劵,两者分别包含了货品的价格或重量,或优惠劵的面值。

5. 全球贸易货品编码的首7位数字是否公司编码?

不是。GS1 及各地分会发出的公司编码会按企业的需要,发出由6个位至11个位不等的公司编码。每组编码的首2至3个位的前置码,代表发出该组编码的GS1分会。

6. 印刷出来的条形码必须保持100%的尺寸放大比率?

可以的。GS1標準是參考美國UPC標準發展而成的,因此所有GS1標準均能識別 UPC 條碼,而UPC-A 及 UPC-E條碼可完全與GS1 標準兼容。美國和加拿大使用UPC-A 及 UPC-E條碼的公司,其貨品也可以獲得全世界其他地區辨識。

7. 外箱用的条形码是否属于另一套不同的系统?

不是。GS1标准包括三种不同的条形码,分别是EAN/UPC、ITF-14 ,以及专门用于外箱,毋须在销售点处理的GS1-128条形码。GS1编码标准本身已足够应付多种不同的包装形态,其中条形码则视乎所有包含的数据、扫瞄环境,以及印刷面的物料而定。

8. 公司内部的店内码是否可作为GS1编码的产品参考编号?

不可以。GS1标准的设计旨在应手于对外交易用途,同时也经常被配合店内码使用。 GS1标准可以轻易配合不同计算机系统,部份企业甚至会以GS1标准代替店内码系统。实际上,企业只要确保店内码只限于内部使用,仍然可以继续使用店内码。

9. 条形码是否都必须黑白印刷?

不是。条形码印刷的首要原则是当扫瞄器发出红外线扫过条形码时,能够清晰分别深色的条纹与浅色的底色,以冷色系的颜色,如蓝色、绿色或黑色配衬暖色系的红色、橙色、黄色和白色均可达至上述效果。最重要是确保条纹与底色之间有明确的对比,因此,会员宜与印刷商查询有关颜色组合的事宜。

10. GS1 条形码是否只适用于零售商进行销售点扫瞄?

不是。GS1标准是一套完全中立的标准,可用以识别任何企业之间进行交易的项目,以至销售点上处理的个别零售商品。事实上,货品在出厂、送到分销商手上、贮仓、盘点、提货等等多个工序上均可能需要进行扫瞄,GS1标准可以应用于各行各业。

11. 是否所有条形码结构都是一样的?

不是。EAN/UPC、ITF-14 及GS1-128條碼均使用統一的數據結構,換句話說,任何採用GS1 標準的企業均可以識別這些條碼,不會產生混淆。其他條碼,例如code 39 則沒有標準的數據結構,因此只可以用於特定的系統環境,無法在供應鏈上中下游不同行業的貿易夥伴共同使用。

Title

BarcodePlus (GS1 HK 产品数据平台)

1. 甚么是BarcodePlus?

BarcodePlus是一个一站式的产品信息平台,此网站采用最为广泛应用的全球标准 -- 条形码及无线射频识别技术 – 让商界及消费者可实时透过互联网、流动电话短讯或设于零售店铺的智能信息站获得关键的产品质量信息。

专针对不同群组的供应链持份者的需求而设,BarcodePlus是一个涵盖多种应用模块,包括产品数据管理及产品质量认证管理等商业解决方案。

2. BarcodePlus有甚么主要好处?

凭借可彼此分享的综合及组织完善的产品数据数据库, BarcodePlus为商界及消费者带来莫大裨益。作为产品质量及安全的信息门户,该网站﹕

  • 为企业(尤其是品牌持有人)提供一个商业对商业(B2B)的信息交换工具,让其零售商业伙伴能有效获取最新的产品数据;
  • 为商界提供一个既实用又可靠的平台,藉此加强品牌知名度及提升消费者对产品安全的信心;
  • 让消费者更了解与产品质量有关的关键数据,并可追溯产品的质量。

3. BarcodePlus适合甚么人士使用?

商界人士﹕BarcodePlus是一个透过互联网进行的商业解决方案,专门为供应链上欲直接向消费者发放可信赖的产品信息的持份者而设,如品牌持有人、制造商、分销商或零售商。BarcodePlus支持各种商业所需,例如产品数据管理、产品质量认证管理及消费者忠诚计划管理等。

消费者﹕BarcodePlus为消费者提供可靠的产品信息。凭借其多元的信息渠道,包括特定的网站、流动电话短讯及智能信息站,让用户无论在家中或路途上中也能获取重要的产品信息,以及进行产品认证检测。

4. BarcodePlus内可存于甚么资料?

  • 国际货品编码 (GTIN) :供应链上的统一货品识别代码。应用在供应链上可令存货数据更加清晰,方便客户再次订购。
  • 全球位置编码(GLN):可以识别机构内任何位置,利用其编码可追寻在供应链上货品的正确位置。
  • 产品详情:品牌名称及各式各样的产品信息,如用途、颜色、大小及图片等等。
  • 物流资料:重量、货柜尺码、包装类别、包装方法及搬运指示等等。
  • 价钱:定价及建议售价。

5. 如何能找到BarcodePlus的操作指引?

会员可登入至会员平台后转至「认识GS1 标准」分页中查看最新的操作指引。

Body

成功案例

以科技打造梦想家居

对一间历经三十载的公司来说,要进行科技改革并非易事,管理层必需拥有无比的决心与毅力,并且制定完善的策略。实惠家居行政总裁吴献升观察到近年消费者行为正在改变…

疫情逆转全球化供应链 企业以「3高3低」原则自保

因应新冠肺炎疫情,各国采取封城措施,导致全球经济大受影响,而供应链亦受到牵连。香港供应商协会主席、美国吉时兄弟(香港)有限公司董事总经理何文锦预料,疫情令市民起居饮食…

士多

"GS1标准使我们能够透过标准化的方式,在正确的时间识别正确的产品,提高营运效率并支持数据分析" -- 行政总裁 岑迪赞先生   …

峰景餐厅集团

"W"展望未来,集团意识到加强供应链和物流系统的重要性,那将能支持和迎合我们持续的业务增长。现有的供应链和订单系统都明显需要精简和增强。为此…

恒昌隆

“透过GS1 HK的『REAL Visibility』 方案,客人可以买到多种正品恒昌隆的保 健系列产品,进一步推动产品的销售情 况。” -- …

亿世集团有限公司

"GS1条码的支持及陪伴,令我们更有信心闯遍天下!" -- 行政总裁许庆得先生   挑战 …

丰泰农产品有限公司

"作为农产品供应商,全球化标准对我们非常重要,协助公司在市场建立信任及符合政府的规定要求。我们期望全球化标准会继续为我们的供应链增值,在农产品行业创立出现代新模式。…


置顶

FAQs

Title

General Enquiry of Barcode Application

1. How to apply EAN barcode? Anything to be alerted?

It is necessary to become our Full member before applying for the EAN barcode.  Please submit the required documents & payment together with your application form.

Please click here for more details.

2. Does all GS1 HK members entitle for EAN-13 barcode?

Only GS1 HK Full Membership is entitled for using EAN-13 barcode.

Please click here for more details.

3. What is the requirement of applying for GS1 HK Member?

The membership registration is open for all organisations holding valid Hong Kong Business Registration Certification.

Please click here to view more details for applying GS1 Barcode.

4. Is it one-off payment for GS1 barcode application?

Applying for barcode service is required to pay the one-off entrance fee and annual membership fee.  It is required to renewal the membership annually to maintain service validity.

5. How many EAN barcode can be assigned for each application?

Each Full Member can be assigned for 1,000 EAN barcodes.

Title

After registered as a GS1 HK member, with the GS1 barcode entitled

1. Any confirmation document will be received after barcode application is succeed?

After barcode application is succeed and becomes GS1HK member, you will receive the below documents by email:

  1. Membership confirmation letter with GS1 Company Prefix
  2. Member Certificate (if applicable)
  3. Login information of GS1HK Member Portal
  4. Payment receipt

2. After receiving the GS1 Company Prefix, how to generate 13-digit barcode (GTIN-13)?

After receiving your GS1 Company Prefix, please login GS1 HK Members Portal.  You may register your product information into BarcodePlus and get 13-digit barcode (GTIN-13) after clicking “submit”.

3. After receiving the 13-digit barcode (GTIN-13) , how to generate barcode image and print barcode label ?

After receiving the 13-digit barcode (GTIN-13),  you can appoint a printing company to generate the barcode image (EAN-13) and print the barcode label accordingly.  Or you may consider printing the barcode image (EAN-13) on the packaging directly.

Please click here for the list of Vendor Partners for your reference.

4. Where can I get the GS1 barcode knowledge/application/training?

GS1 HK  conducts monthly barcode workshop to deliver barcode knowledge and elaborate the application procedure.  It is a free service to all GS1 Full members.  

Please click here to understand more on GS1 HK activities.

Title

GS1 Barcode / Standard

1. Can UPC-A and UPC-E bar codes be scanned outside USA/Canada?

Yes. The GS1 System was designed based on the UPC system, so the UPC-A & UPC-E symbols are 100 percent compatible with all GS1 Systems. Companies using UPC-A & UPC-E bar codes can have their products identified across the globe without any difficulty.

2. Can EAN-13 Symbols be scanned in USA/Canada?

A sunrise date on January 1, 2005 has been set for the global acceptance of GTIN-13. However, a few retailers in the US and Canada may experience a problem in that their systems not able to accommodate GTIN-13. In such case, the GTIN-12 represented in a UPC-A or UPC-E Symbol is required.

3. Do the first three digits of a barcode indicate a product’s country of origin?

No. The first three digits refer to the country of membership of the company assigning the number. The products themselves may be produced anywhere in the world. For example, numbers beginning with 489 have been allocated by GS1 Hong Kong, but the products may not be manufactured in Hong Kong. The same applies for all other GS1 Member Organizations.

4. Are the item description and price also included within a barcode on a product?

In general, it is not the case. The barcode represents the number on the label, it allows the unique number to be scanned. All information about a product is stored in a computer database. The only exceptions are the GTIN-13 and GTIN-12 for retail Variable Measure Trade Items and Coupon, which include the price or the measurement of the item or the value.

5. Are the first seven digits of a GTIN the manufacturer’s identity number?

No. GS1 Member Organizations allocate GS1 Company Prefixes that may vary between six and eleven digits, depending on the company’s needs. The first two or three digits indicate the GS1 Member Organization allocating the company number that follows.

6. Do barcodes have to be printed as close as possible to the 100 percent on target size?

No. The printing process and the materials used will determine the size of a barcode. The bars and spaces must be clearly recognized by the scanner as part of an accurate symbol. Members are advised to submit the finished barcode image to GS1 Hong Kong for quality testing.

7. Are the barcodes used on outer cases part of a different system?

No. The GS1 System allows for three different barcode symbologies - EAN/UPC, ITF-14 and GS1-12 8 to be used on outer cases, which do not cross a retail point-of-sale. The numbering system is designed to be used for all packaging configurations, and the different symbols are used according to information requirements, scanning environment and the printing materials being used.

8. Will my in-house coding system fit into the Item Reference part of the article number?

No, it will not. The GS1 System is especially designed for open trade and will often be used alongside an internal system. Some companies will replace their internal system, but using the GS1 System (which is designed for different computers to use easily) does not mean necessarily abandoning an internal system that is purely for internal use.

9. Do bar codes have to be printed in black on a white background?

No. It is important that the bars appear dark against a light background that will reflect the infrared light when scanning. As for cold colors such as blue, green or black can be used against backgrounds in warm colors like red, orange and yellow, as well as white. It is important to have sufficient contrast between the bars and spaces, so it is vital to check color combinations with your printer.

10. Are GS1 BarCodes the only application suitable for the retail point-of-sale?

No. The GS1 System is a totally neutral system that can be used to identify anything that is traded among companies, as well as individual retail items at the point-of-sale. Goods are scanned as they leave manufacturers, as they are handled by distributors, scanned again at goods inwards at warehouses and depots, again for stock counts, as orders are picked and so on. The system is used by companies operating in all trade and industry sectors.

11. Are all barcodes the same?

No. EAN/UPC, ITF-14 and GS1-12 8 Bar Codes have a standardized data content, which means they can be used by any company with GS1 System, and not be confused with any other symbology. Other bar codes, for example code 39 do not have a multi-industry standardized approach to the data they contain, and so are only really usable in controlled systems where they will not be confusing to interpret.

Title

BarcodePlus (GS1 HK Product Information Portal)

1. What is BarcodePlus?

BarcodePlus is a one-stop and reliable product information portal, which uses the most widely recognized global standards – barcode and RFID technologies in providing business and customers access to critical product quality and safety information instantly, either via web portal, mobile SMS or intelligent smart kiosk displays at retail shops.

Designated for a distinct group of supply chain stakeholders, BarcodePlus is a business solution composes of different application modules including Product Data Management and Product Quality Certification Management.

2. What are the key benefits of BarcodePlus?

BarcodePlus brings ample benefits to businesses and consumers through a shared product-quality information database which is comprehensive and well-organized. Acting as "a window to product quality and safety", the portal:

  • provides companies (especially brand owners) a B2B information exchange tool to keep their retail business partners updated with new product information.
  • offers businesses a practical and reliable platform which can help enhance brand integrity and increase customer confidence in product safety.
  • allows consumers to access to critical product quality-related information and trace the quality of a product.

3. Who should use BarcodePlus?

Businesses: BarcodePlus is a web-enabled business solution designed for any company that operates within the supply chain, including brand owners, manufacturers, distributors or retailers who would like to disseminate trusted product information directly to the consumers. BarcodePlus supports support various business needs such as product data management, testing certification management and consumer loyalty program management.

Consumers: BarcodePlus provides consumers with a reliable source of information. With multiple information channels, including a dedicated web portal, mobile SMS and smart kiosks, the portal allows end users to access essential product information, as well as perform product authentication checking at home or on the road.

4. What data does BarcodePlus support?

  • Global Trade Item Number (GTIN) unique product identification for any trade item in the supply chain. It can be used throughout the supply chain to keep track of inventory and trigger re-ordering.
  • Global Location Number (GLN) unique identification for any legal, functional or physical location within an organization. It can be used throughout the supply chain to track and trace the location of goods.
  • Product description such as brand name, long and short product description for different application use, color, size and images, etc
  • Logistics information such as weight, dimensions of the shipment/carton, packaging type, packing format, handling instruction, etc Pricing such as list price and recommended sale price

5. Where can I download the user guideline?

Member can login to Member Portal and access to the “Learn How To” for the latest user guideline.

Body

Success Cases

The Technologies that Creates Your Home Sweet Home

A technology overhaul is never easy for a 3 decade-old business, it requires…

Executive Connect COVID-19 Reshapes Global Supply Chains: Enterprises Should Master “3 High, 3 Low” to Stay Afloat

COVID-19 pandemic and the associated lockdowns in many countries have created…

Ztore

"GS1 Standards enable us to improve operation efficiency and support data…

Cafe Deco Group

"With foresight, the Group has recognised the imperative of strengthening the…

Hang Cheong Loong

“Through GS1 HK's REAL Visibility solution, our customers can buy a variety of…

E.P.S.A. Corporation Limited

"Having the support of GS1 barcode, we are more confident to expand our global…

Rich Harvest Agricultural Product Limited

"Being an agricultural provider, global standards play an important role for us to…


Top