Business-Connect-202003-Interview-3

電商增長持續 中小企靠網絡平台點石成金

Body

eBay於2019年的貨品交易額創歷年新高,其香港、台灣及東南亞業務發展總經理許頌恩(Jenny)表示,其負責地區的賣家發展勢頭強勁,每年均有雙位數增長,其中以售賣電子產品的跨境交易最突出,同比增長超過一倍,以英、法、意、西班牙等作為主要巿場。

巿況未明 電商優勢明顯

中美雖已簽署首階段貿易協議,但現時巿場充滿不確定性,香港經濟放緩在所難免。Jenny表示,香港憑藉鄰近國內的地理優勢、免稅及成熟的物流配套,在網上跨境貿易巿場相較東南亞及台灣地區仍表現卓越。但面對營商環境艱難,不單是個體戶或中小企,就連大品牌和連鎖店都要透過電商平台開拓全球巿場。

「米蘭站、Brand Off、莎莎等連鎖店除擁有自身網店外,亦會與我們合作銷售至世界各地,因為eBay的環球團隊知道哪個巿場需要哪種商品,讓賣家能在全球打響名堂。」

本地家電企業億世家於2017年開始利用eBay拓展海外市場,原本估計其廚房電器只在東南亞地區熱賣,因當地華人多、飲食文化相近,意外發現其電飯煲、蒸爐等在澳洲市場亦很受歡迎,令其電商業務增長率以倍數提升。這有賴eBay品類管理(Category management)團隊,從全球搜羅最新巿場資料,再加上eBay的大數據,讓賣家隨時獲知最適合自己發展的巿場。

出謀獻策 助建跨境電商業務

eBay現有約6成生意來自跨境貿易業務,其團隊一直竭力協助供應商和賣家提升銷量。有許多供應商對電商平台不熟稔,所以eBay特別與SoldEazy合作推出易貿通分銷平台,讓供應商與eBay的金牌賣家輕鬆配對,輕易賣向環球巿場。GS1 HK會員更可尊享優惠價加盟此計劃,會員只需透過操作簡易、配套完善的一站式物流及訂單解決方案,便可開拓跨境貿易新藍海。而GS1 HK亦提供SmartSearch等提升搜尋結果排名的方案,助加強網上銷售。

  1. GS1 HK會員上傳產品資料
  2. oldEazy易貿通分銷平台/eBay 賣家於平台揀選產品銷售
  3. eBay買家下單付款
  4. eBay賣家向會員下單付款
  5. 安排快遞公司提貨及送貨
Body
全球採購配對平台運作

「我們利用這系統找供應商之餘,亦讓eBay賣家發掘新財路,因為他們未必有資源或物流系統去找供應商買貨再放售、或需要新產品,此服務就可讓供應商和賣家配對,達致雙贏。」

此外,eBay亦積極與不同地區當地電商系統對接,如韓國的Gmarket、日本和台灣的露天拍賣、土耳其的GittiGidiyor、南美洲MercadoLibre等,只要香港、台灣或東南亞的賣家在eBay開店後參與計劃,便可以將產品拓展到這些當地巿場。

「賣家參與計劃後,我們會有專責團隊將其產品內容複製到不同地方的銷售網站上,在翻譯、頁面設計、海外市場的廣告定位及投放等方面作支援,對於首次使用的賣家更有機會獲得補貼,減低他們拓展巿場時的風險。」

eBay同時推出線上跨境電商物流管理方案SpeedPAK,透過其合作的物流供應商夥伴,提供收貨、倉儲、通關/清關、最後一程配送等一站式服務,讓賣家送產品到全球41個國家,並在歐美6個巿場設買家退貨服務,令售後服務更全面。

Image Slideshow
Image Slideshow
Body
揭兩大電商成功秘技

eBay香港現時擁有過萬名活躍賣家,要脫穎而出,Jenny認為有兩大竅門:產品獨特、有巿場需求或有競爭優勢。「我認識一位賣半導體的賣家,他父親是鑽研半導體的教授,父子倆最喜歡到廢棄舊電子零件場中尋寶,再將收買回來的半導體零件維修改良,然後以10倍甚至數10倍的價錢賣出,獲利極豐厚。這類獨特的經營模式為他們帶來與別不同的巿場。」

「另一位熱衷釣魚的賣家,他在eBay上賣魚餌、魚杆等,一賣便20年。釣魚產品的巿場其實不大,但因為他來自日本及台灣的貨源高質,且熟悉巿場,懂得利用KOL推廣,所以在澳洲、韓國等巿場生意很好。」

對於香港巿場,Jenny表示香港賣家具備價格競爭優勢。她認為香港人腦筋靈活、巿場觸覺靈敏,未來仍大有可為。「有過往做翻新手機的賣家眼見越來越多人進入巿場,便找來機構或手機生產商認證,讓其成為官方翻新手機商,持續發展業務。」所以賣家要審時度勢、隨機應變,才能運籌帷幄、決勝全球。

Image Slideshow

相關文章

米商推糧票NFT 可兌百包米 歷經低潮以創新翻身
疫情初期曾發生「 搶米潮 」,其實米飯作為香港人主食,香港政府有規定保證儲米量夠港人吃15天,亦要求米商確保存貨。迄立香港半世紀的超力國際食品便是本地主要米商…
本地科研成功商品化 支援抗疫
鉍是一種化學元素,除了是綠色無毒元素外,利用螫合技術造出的液態金屬鉍離子,能成為消除病毒及細菌武器。有本地初創便以2年時間、發明螫合鉍離子技術並成功導入口罩,支援抗疫…
弘揚商社共生 淬鍊本地原創生力軍
正當一眾企業家在這兩年苦思如何恪守本業、同時轉型配合巿場趨勢時,擁有超過45年歷史的羅氏集團早於2015年已大 刀闊斧地變革,牽頭將「創造共享價值」(Creating…

置頂

Business-Connect-202003-Interview-3

SMEs Hitchhiking the e-Com Growth in Challenging Times

Body

eBay’s gross merchandise volume surged to a record high in 2019. Jenny Hui, General Manager of eBay Hong Kong, Southeast Asia and Taiwan, sees a strong momentum from sellers in the region as they reported double-digit growth annually. For merchants selling electronic products to markets like England, France, Italy and Spain, their performance excelled their peers by doubling their growth compared with the previous year.

Tackling uncertainty with e-Com business

Despite the phase one US-China trade deal was sealed, the market is still full of uncertainties and fears, it is inevitable that Hong Kong economy will continue to tumble downwards. Jenny believes Hong Kong’s cross-border e-commerce (e-com) market can be shielded from the downturn and continue to surpass Southeast Asia and Taiwan, for its proximity to Mainland China market, tax-free system and international logistics hub. She also noticed the deteriorating economic situation has driven businesses of all sizes, whether they are giant retail chains, SMEs or sole proprietor, to jump onto the e-com platform bandwagon to unlock the global market.

“Retail chains like Milan Station, Brand Off and Sasa not only sell on their own e-com site, but also collaborate with us to sell globally. With up-to-date intelligence on worldwide market trends and needs, our global team can help sellers open up new market easily.”

ecHome, a local home and kitchen appliance brand in Hong Kong, started its cross-border e-com journey on eBay in 2017. Aiming for the Chinese market in Southeast Asia for their similar culinary culture, the company’s kitchen appliances, like rice cookers and steamers, gained an unexpected popularity in Australian market, achieving incredible growth in e-com channels. This is contributed to eBay’s category management team and its big data analytics tool, which has helped sellers identify opportunities in potential markets.

Strategic back-up for businesses

Around 60% of eBay’s business comes from cross-border trade, so its team tried hard to help suppliers and sellers boost their sales. As many of the suppliers are not familiar selling on e-com platforms, eBay and SoldEazy joined forces to launch a sourcing matching platform that facilitates suppliers matching with top-rated eBay sellers, opening up overseas market with ease. GS1 HK members can enjoy exclusive offer to join the programme, and benefit from the easy-to-use orders and delivery management solution, easily tapping into cross-border trade business. GS1 HK also provides solutions like SmartSearch to help brands enhance their search ranking and improve online sales.

  1. GS1 HK Members Upload product information
  2. SoldEazy’s Sourcing Platform/eBay Sellers Select products to sell on eBay shops
  3. eBay Buyers Place orders
  4. eBay Sellers place orders to members
  5. Courier pickup and deliver the products
Body
Sourcing Matching Platform

“The platform helps us identify new suppliers, and on the other hand, eBay sellers take advantage of it to explore new products because some sellers may not have resources and logistics system to stock up inventory from suppliers before the transaction, or in
need of new products. By matching suppliers and sellers creates a win-win situation.”

Besides, eBay also collaborates with the regional e-com platforms in different countries like Gmarket in Korea, Ruten in Japan and Taiwan, GittiGidiyor in Turkey and MercadoLibre in South America. Sellers from Hong Kong, Taiwan or Southeast Asia only need to join a programme to expand their businesses to those regions.

“Once sellers join the programme, a dedicated team will help to direct the products to those platforms, providing support on translation, website design, overseas marketing strategy etc. For those first-time participants, they may enjoy subsidies to help them reduce risk in expanding new markets.”

eBay offers SpeedPAK shipping services for cross-border delivery. Partnered with logistics solution providers, one-stop service is provided to sellers including receiving, warehousing, customs clearance, last mile delivery etc, enabling them to sell their products to 41 countries worldwide. Sellers can also provide better after-sales service as eBay offers return service in 6 markets in Europe and the United States.

Body
Success Tips for e-Commerce

When asked about the tips for brands to stand out among the 10,000 active sellers on eBay, Jenny revealed two keys to success – product uniqueness and having market demand or competitive advantage. “I know of a seller whose father is a professor with expertise in semiconductors. They like to hunt for old treasures in scrap market, then repair and enhance those semiconductor components, sell them for 10 or dozen times of the cost and earn a handsome profit. They are one-of-a-kind in the market with this unique business model.”

“There’s another fishing enthusiast who has been selling fishing lures, rods, and others on eBay for 20 years. Even though fishing equipment market is niche, his expertise in the market, high quality products made in Japan or Taiwan, together with active promotion like KOL endorsement has brought him great success in markets like Australia and Korea.”

Jenny believed Hong Kong sellers have great potential ahead as Hong Kong has competitive advantage in pricing, and people are quick-wit with sharp business acumen. “Seeing more competitors in the mobile refurbishing service market, the existing service providers changed its business strategy by obtaining official certification from mobile manufacturers or certification bodies, sealing its official status to sustain their businesses.” If there is a winning formula for sellers, it is to always assess the landscape, conduct due diligence, and respond quickly to the market changes.

Related article

Forget the Past and Start from Scratch Online Skincare Products Business Doubled in Epidemic
The ongoing impact of epidemic is seeing businesses winding up one after another…
The Technologies that Creates Your Home Sweet Home
A technology overhaul is never easy for a 3 decade-old business, it requires…
Feeling Hopeful of Greater Bay Area Development Tmall Helps Shape Hong Kong’s e-Commerce Ecosystem
China’s State Council announced the new “Outline Development Plan for the Guangdong…

Top