First Smart Hospital in HK brings Healthcare Services into the Next New Stage

全港首間智慧醫院 開拓醫護新領域

Body

坐擁無敵吐露港海景的香港中文大學醫院(中大醫院)有著前衞的建築外觀,是全港首間5G網絡全覆蓋的智慧醫院。大堂接待處設有數台自助電子服務站及帶路機械人「院轆轆」,為病人提供更便捷的服務。中大醫院行政總裁馮康醫生透露,先進科技不能取代醫護工作,反而讓他們專注更重要的診治過程,最終是要向市民提供優質、高效、實惠的醫療服務。

價錢透明 服務貼心

香港擁有世界一流的醫療服務,卻同時承受着日益沉重的負擔和挑戰。馮醫生指目前公立醫院輪候時間長、私家醫院收費不清晰,期待中大醫院能有助平衡公私營醫療體系差異,以非牟利、積極投入科研和教學作原則,善用創科去提升質素及效率、帶來親民收費水平,亦會持續接收醫管局轉介的個案,紓緩公營醫療壓力。

CUHK Medical Centre

CUHK Medical Centre_Reception

「智慧服務」以人為本

數碼化、智能化科技已成為現今醫療的基礎。「我們將流動資訊科技及實時數據融入診治流程,支援病人求醫就診到家居照顧的整個旅程,主要在『智慧醫療、智慧服務、智慧管理』三方面著手,將醫護流程和醫院運作自動化、智能化,讓醫護人員能更專注看顧病人,減少行政管理工作。」

要做到以人為本,自然要考慮病人體驗、確保整個就診過程暢順。中大醫院即將提供手機應用程式讓病人預約門診,到醫院時可透過自助電子服務站登記和取籌,對接病人app內的輪候提示功能,便可知道何時應診;同時程式可顯示病人的診症紀錄、醫療報告、藥物敏感資訊等,提升服務體驗。

對住院病人,所有病床連接的資訊娛樂系統除設有電視及上網功能,更可用作點餐、查詢住院費用、遙距家屬探訪、遠程診症等,在現時疫情反覆的情況下有助保持社交距離。

在取藥及離院時,病人可於病房樓層的護士站取藥,而毋須到地下的藥劑部,更方便病人。

「智慧醫療」事半功倍

工欲善其事,必先利其器:電子病歷紀錄系統便是中大醫院的一項「利器」。該系統已全面接通政府的電子健康紀錄互通系統,在病人授權下,醫護人員便能即時掌握病人病歷等資料,有助診治及臨床決策;同時有利醫護人員間的訊息傳遞,既省時亦環保。

醫院亦引入電子藥車,護士派藥時只需與病人核對個人資料及掃描病人手帶,藥車上相應的藥格便會開啟,減少派錯藥風險。

Hospital Beds

藥劑服務方面,在藥房的藥架上每種藥物均有電子標籤,藥劑師於平板電腦選取處方藥物後,藥架上藥物的電子標籤會亮起不同顏色燈光,方便藥劑師「按燈執藥」。該院亦率先引入自動藥物分包機,可將病人不同時段要服用的藥物分開獨立包裝,確保病人準時準量服用藥物,減少漏服、錯服情況。

GS1 global barcode

「智慧管理」省時節流

當今醫療設備及器材五花八門,能產生大量健康或疾病情況數據,所以必須有一套共同語言把它們連繫,才能將海量數據整理成有用資料。「我們採用基於HL7標準的『快捷健康互操作資源』(FHIR)系統,冀以單一平台、物聯網技術打通各種設備、裝置、系統,讓醫院信息系統互聯互通;從而提升醫療服務效率,減少不必要的消耗,以至減輕病人財務負擔。」

現時院內設有導航及實時定位系統,方便醫護及病人檢視自身及藥物等的實時位置,確保病人安全和不同物品的去向;例如病床用品、醫護及病人衣物等都配備了無線射頻識別(RFID),讓管理人員輕易識別和追蹤,省卻大量盤點核對時間。

「不要少看床單被服等布料用品的管理,有效監控的話可以減少20-30%的浪費和消耗。我們不似公營醫院般需要大量物料儲備去應對緊急情況,在『需用才用』的原則下變相擁有更多現金流,這對私營醫院來說非常緊要。」

Endoscope disinfection system

馮醫生形容香港公私營醫療失衡的現象也正在愚公移山般慢慢地完善。隨著他領軍籌辦的中大醫院正循序漸進分段開放,他期望中大醫院開創出一個基礎,帶動將來的醫療科技及體制不斷變革,讓任何人都享有可負擔的優質醫療服務。

 Hospital Beds

Operation Room

中大醫院小資訊
醫院設有516張病床,現階段已提供普通科門診及眼科、心臟科、泌尿科等專科治療、影像診斷、物理治療等服務,今年內將拓展至24小時急症室及開展產科,第四季將有約120張病床投入服務。

 

 


置頂

First Smart Hospital in HK brings Healthcare Services into the Next New Stage

First Smart Hospital in HK brings Healthcare Services into the Next New Stage

Body

Overlooking the Tolo Harbour, CUHK Medical Centre (CUHKMC or “the hospital”) presents itself with a modern outlook. Being the first smart hospital in Hong Kong with full 5G coverage, its reception area is fitted out with several self-service kiosks and a guiding robot called “Rolly” providing patients with faster and more convenient service. Dr. Fung Hong, CEO of CUHKMC (“Dr. Fung”), noted that advanced technology will not take over the jobs of healthcare professionals, but allow them to focus more on the treatment process and provide more quality, efficient and affordable medical service to the citizens.
 

Transparent Pricing & Caring Services

Hong Kong is blessed with world-class healthcare services, but the healthcare industry is facing more burdens and challenges, such as the long queues at the public hospitals and opaque price structure of private medical services, as Dr. Fung pointed out. He hopes CUHKMC can bridge the gap between the public and private healthcare systems. Guided by its not-for-profit principle with a focus on R&D and education, the hospital banks on innovation and technology to deliver quality and efficient services at affordable price levels. It will also take on referral cases from the Hospital Authority (HA) to help alleviate pressure on the public healthcare system.

CUHK Medical Centre

CUHK Medical Centre_Reception

 

Smart Care Makes a Patient-centric Hospital

Digitalisation and smart technologies are the foundations for today’s healthcare service. “From doctor consultation to homecare, we support the end-to-end patient journey by integrating mobile technology and real-time data into the treatment process. Focusing on Smart Medicine, Smart Care and Smart Management, we will automate healthcare procedures and hospital operations by making them smart, in order to reduce administrative workloads on medical professionals and allow them to focus on their patients.” Dr. Fung said.

A smooth clinical process and satisfactory patient experience are the two most important factors for the provision of patient-centric services. CUHKMC will launch a mobile app for outpatients to make doctor appointments. Upon arrival at the hospital, the patient will just have to check-in and print the queue ticket at the self-service kiosks and wait to receive alerts of queueing status via the mobile app. The mobile app is also able to show detailed information such as a patient’s consultation records, medical reports, drug allergy and more to uplift service experience.

For in-patients, each and every hospital bed is equipped with an infotainment panel that provides TV and internet access, and usable for meal ordering, hospital bill checking, tele-visit, tele-consultation and so on. This is particularly helpful for maintaining social-distancing in the current unsettling pandemic situation.

When patients check out from the hospital, they can conveniently pick up their medical prescriptions at the nurse station located on the in-patient floor, saving the trip to the pharmacy on the ground floor.

Smart Medicine Does More with Less

As the saying goes “you cannot make bricks without straw”, one of the “straws” of the hospital is its electronic medical record system which is fully connected with the Government’s Electronic Health Record Sharing System (eHRSS). With the patients’ consent, healthcare professionals can instantly get access to their medical history, which aids medical consultation and clinical decision making. This system is also conducive to information transfer between healthcare practitioners helping to save time and go green.

The hospital has introduced E-Med Cart, an IoT-connected drug trolley, to its medication distribution workflow. The nurses will need to scan a patient’s wristband barcode and verify the information to unlock the corresponding compartment on the trolley, reducing the risk of medication error.

Hospital Beds

In the pharmacy room, each type of medicine on the drug shelf is attached with an electronic tag. The tags will be lit up in different colours corresponding to the prescribed drugs selected by the pharmacists on their electronic tablets, making it much easier for pharmacists to gather what they need. The hospital is also the first in Hong Kong to introduce an automated drug dispensing and packaging system, which packs the required dosage for each scheduled time individually to make sure patients take their medications on time and reduce the chances of missing and incorrect medication.

GS1 global barcode

Smart Management Saves Money & Time

As medical equipment and devices become more sophisticated in all forms and sizes, a set of common language is needed to connect, categorise and analyse the huge amount of health and illness-related data generated by them. “We are deploying the HL7 standard-based Fast Healthcare Interoperability Resources (FHIR) system to bring all equipment, devices and systems onto one single platform with IoT technology in order to enhance connectivity of the hospital’s information system. This will help boost pharmaceutical service efficiency, reduce unnecessary wastage and ultimately alleviate patients’ financial burden.

Currently, the hospital has an in-hospital navigation and GPS system that allows medical staff (and patients) to track the real-time locations of people and supplies, ensuring patient safety and the movement of resources. For example, the hospital linen, staff and patients’ clothing are all equipped with RFID tags to enable easy identification and tracking, hence saving a substantial amount of time for stock-taking.

“Do not underestimate linen management. 20-30% of wastage can be reduced with proper handling and control. Unlike public hospitals, we do not need a large amount of supply reserves for emergency situations. This allows us to spend on an “as-needed” basis and helps improve our cash flow which is highly important to private hospitals like us.”

Endoscope disinfection system

Involved in the development of the Smart Hospital since the beginning, Dr. Fung thinks the imbalance between Hong Kong’s public and private healthcare systems has gradually improved. With the hospital gradually put into service, he expects CUHKMC to set the stage and pave the way to further medical technology advancement and system reform, allowing everyone to enjoy affordable and quality medical services.

 Hospital Beds

Operation Room

CUHKMC Info
The hospital can cater for 516 beds, while it currently offers general out-patient and specialist out-patient services including ophthalmology, cardiology, urology, etc., and medical services covering imaging diagnosis, physiotherapy, etc. The 24-hour emergency service, obstetrics, along with 120 in-patient beds will be available in the 4th quarter of 2021.

 

 


Top