International Medical Co. Ltd

藥廠捍衛「金漆招牌」 以科技拓巿場

Body

疫情大大提升了巿民健康意識。全球藥業有限公司主席倫洪楷(Joseph)稱其藥品在跨境電商銷售增幅顯著,代理品牌雙飛人藥水更剛贏得內地商標官司,看好內地有更大發展空間。公司同時跟歐美日等地的藥廠長久合作、橫跨世界各地,是胃仙U及攝達的品牌商、雙蝦標的總代理;未來他對東南亞巿場寄予厚望,期待本港儘快通關、恢復更緊密商貿往來。

商標爭議 雙飛人藥水=利佳薄荷水
雙飛人藥水能內服外用、用途廣泛且價廉物美,自70年代推出後已暢銷全港,更乘80年代改革開放獲內地青睞,受中港用家歡迎。
 
然而有不法商人覬覦產品知名度,在內地搶註了其商標,令全球藥業與山寨方展開拉鋸式侵權訴訟;公司多年來堅持捍衞權益,近日終獲判勝訴。「我們用的是可飲用乙醇,能治舟車暈浪、痾嘔肚痛等,冒牌貨用的是工業用乙醇,效果成疑。由於商標爭議,現時產品在內地以『利佳薄荷水』名稱發售。」

「假貨不但減少收入,亦影響聲譽:曾有內地客以$50,000港幣買了兩樽冒牌貨,需報警求助;亦有用家打來投訴貨不對辦,原來亦是贋品。

Medical Internation Quote

獨特設計 追求本地智能製造
公司另一熱賣產品胃仙U則不易造假,全因半世紀前的遠見及突破。「二戰後百廢待舉、各地力爭進步,公司與日本專家便共同研發出『片中片』的雙層藥片結構,既能中和胃酸,促進消化、亦能舒緩各種胃部不適。胃仙U的包裝設計獨特,有暗花視覺效果,而顏色是特意調較而成,非一般專色、消費者容易分辨。」

Weisen-U

胃仙U在2019年已將生產線由日本遷港,在具備最高國際藥品生產標準(PIC/S GMP)的大埔廠房生產。Joseph解釋:「本地製藥行業已升級達國際標準,安全及穩定性媲美日本。以往日本廠要做好一個貨櫃的產品才運往香港,在生產調動上較難配合,亦未能追上現今小批訂單的網購趨勢;所以為確保產品長期穩定供應和高品質,便將生產線遷移香港。」他表示正主動審視智慧工廠發展,評估公司如何進一步投入工業4.0趨勢。

科技為基礎 「及時」營造優質體驗
全球藥業一早已應用條碼、GS1 HK的「通商易」及企業資源管理(ERP)等將營運數碼化,例如供應醫管局及藥房的藥品都會以電子方式傳送訂單及發票。

此外,公司亦利用大數據分析,掌握內地顧客群以30歲以上女性為主,所以特別針對在女性常用apps、微信小程序、SEO (Search Engine Optimization)/ SEM (Search Engine Marketing)等宣傳推廣。

我們內地網上生意佔比已超越實體店,發展一日千里。即使內地有多級經銷商令行政成本提高,但他們熟悉各省巿不同文化特色,所以靠當地網絡還是相對穩妥。

除了敏銳的巿場觸覺,以客為本亦是公司品牌連續5年獲嘉許為「貼心企業」的原因之一。「我們有一系列服務承諾,包括及時回應消費者要求;及時送貨、通常2日內送達;及時答覆線上線下查詢等。我們會繼續提升服務,超越消費者期望。」
 

TIMC_consumer caring company

以「金漆招牌」進軍東南亞

全球藥業緊貼巿場健康需求,在2013年已推出攝達鈣片,至今陸續推出適合不同年齡的鈣片及維他命,以及維持泌尿、關節健康的保健品。未來會推出韓國製酵素,促進新陳代謝。Joseph指香港是個銷量穩定的成熟巿場,但作為中國內地跳板卻有著巨大潛力,在跨境電商銷售升幅上尤其明顯。

「即使成份一樣的利佳薄荷水在內地有售,內地消費者仍偏愛香港銷售的法國雙飛人藥水,相信是因多年來對香港產品『金漆招牌』的信心吧。」公司同時積極以胃仙U開拓新加坡、柬埔寨及越南巿場。

 

相關文章

藥品改例棄百萬紙品 轉型批發零售多元發展
港人的保健意識提升,帶動近年保健食品市場持續增長。開業17年的樂寶健康有限公司,可說是經歷過香港保健品的蛻變,其董事總經理蒙燦櫻 (Lily)指…
新零售百態 隨時代更佳
本地超巿巨頭百佳超級市場是GS1 HK創會成員之一,由50年前一間分店發展至今約260間超巿,其董事總經理任良安(Norman)可說是伴隨成長。「我在零售業工作幾十年…
米商推糧票NFT 可兌百包米 歷經低潮以創新翻身
疫情初期曾發生「 搶米潮 」,其實米飯作為香港人主食,香港政府有規定保證儲米量夠港人吃15天,亦要求米商確保存貨。迄立香港半世紀的超力國際食品便是本地主要米商…

置頂

International Medical Co. Ltd

Pharmaceutical Company Defends Reputation and Unearths Market Potentials with Technology 

Body

The pandemic has fueled the community concerns over health and well-being. Seeing a sizable growth in cross-border commerce of pharmaceutical products & having won the Ricqles’ trademark lawsuit in Mainland China, Joseph Lun, Chairman of The International Medical Co. Ltd. (TIMC) - the sole agent of Ricqlès Peppermint Cure (Ricqlès), expects greater development potential in Mainland China.

As the brand owner of Weisen-U and Citracium, as well as exclusive distributor of Double Prawn Herbal Oil, the company maintains long-term relationship with medical suppliers in Europe, the States, Japan and across the globe. Eyeing SE Asian market potentials, Joseph looks forward to the resumption of quarantine-free travel to restore business ties.

Trademark Dispute Created Doppelganger in Two Markets
With its extensive functions for external & internal use, and value-for-money, Ricqlès had become popular in Hong Kong since the 70s, and attracted Mainland Chinese consumers’ attention during the Reform and Opening era in the 80s.

Conspired to steal their well-established reputation, a fraudster had preemptively registered Ricqlès trademark in Mainland China, which then led to the prolonged period of litigation between TIMC and the counterfeiter. With continued resolve over the years, TIMC finally triumphed in the recent verdict. “We use edible ethanol that can cure travel sickness and stomach problems, whereas the fakes use industrial-use ethanol with dubious results. Due to the trade dispute, we are selling in Mainland China with the brand ‘Lijia Peppermint Cure’.”

“The bogus products not only jeopardise our revenue but also our reputation: A mainland Chinese was once ripped off buying 2 bottles of passing off for HK$50,000 and called police for help; while some who actually purchased passing off complained about the product quality.”
Medical Internation Quote

Unique Design Pursuing Local Smart Production
Weisen-U, another company’s bestseller, is rather immune to forgery due to its foresight and innovative breakthrough half a century ago. “After the second world war, the progress of recovery were exceedingly fast. TIMC and Japanese experts joined hands and invented dual-layer multi-action tablets, which not only neutralize excessive gastric acid and help digestion, but also relieve various kinds of stomach discomforts. Printed with special visual effect & custom color, the unique product packaging design of Weisen-U made decades ago helps consumers to easily identify the brand.”
Weisen-U

Production of the drug was relocated from Japan to Hong Kong in 2019, at Tai Po manufacturing plant equipped with world-class pharmaceutical system (PIC/S GMP). Joseph explained, “The pharmaceutical industry in Hong Kong fully meets international standards, and is actually comparable to Japan’s safety and output performance. In the past, the production line in Japan required containers to be completely filled up before shipping to Hong Kong, which restricted the production flexibility and could not cater for the small-batch e-commerce trend. Therefore, we had decided to move our production line to Hong Kong to ensure a stable and high-quality supply in the long run.” He is also exploring the feasibility to tap into Industry 4.0 trends with Smart Factory.

Prompt Response to Market and Customer using Technology
TIMC has adopted a number of digital components for long in their operation, such as barcode, GS1 HK’s ezTRADE B2B e-commerce platform and ERP system. An example would be the electronic PO and invoice transmission on the drug supply to the Hospital Authority.

Through data analytics, the company has also identified women over 30 as their major customers in Mainland China. Hence, they leveraged apps frequently used by women, WeChat mini-program and SEO (Search Engine Optimization)/SEM (Search Engine Marketing) for targeted promotion.

“Our online businesses in Mainland China has outperformed the physical channels. Even though our administrative costs were lifted up by multiple tiers of distributors, we prefer leveraging their network to sell as they have deeper understanding on consumption pattern of different cities.”

In addition to strong market sense, customer focus is also one of the reasons why TIMC’s brands were recognised as a "consumer caring company" for five consecutive years. "We have a series of service commitments, including prompt response to consumers’ requests; timely delivery which is usually completed in 2 days; timely response to online and offline inquiries, etc. We are committed to improving our services and exceeding consumer expectations."

TIMC_consumer caring company

HK Brand Entering Southeast Asia Market with Good Reputation
Addressing the health needs of the market, TIMC launched Citracium in 2013. Calcium tablets and vitamins suitable for different ages and stages, as well as health products that maintains urinary and joint health were introduced. They will be launching Korean enzymes for boosting metabolism in the pipeline. Though Hong Kong is a mature market with stable sales, Joseph believes the city has great potential as China’s gateway, tapping into the upsurge in cross-border e-commerce.
 

“Even with the same recipe, Mainland Chinese consumers still favours the HK-version of Ricqlès, mainly due to their confidence in the well-established reputation of Hong Kong brands.” The company is also planning to expand Weisen-U’s presence in Southeast Asia markets like Singapore, Cambodia and Vietnam.

 

Related article

Rice Merchant Breaking New Grounds in Hard Times Redeemable NFTs for 100 Packs of Rice
The public had rushed to stock up rice in the early days of the pandemic, in fear of…
Successful Commercialisation of Local R&D to Support the Fight Against Pandemic
Bismuth is a non-toxic and green chemical element. The ionic bismuth created from…
The Key to Growing Organic Business Amid Pandemic: Integrity, Expertise, Tenacity, Agility
In response to the 2-year-long pandemic crisis, Hong Kong consumers have been…

Top