Health Aims

越「疫」越有機 全靠誠信、專業、堅持、靈活

Body

面對連續兩年的疫情,香港消費者愈加明白健康的可貴,因而更願意花錢在有機及天然食材上,冀提升抵抗力。在香港紮根逾24年的源生坊有機功能產品專門店(源生坊)亦因而受惠,過去2年生意額飆升逾1成;亦因為源生坊董事總經理暨創辦人高照成(Duncan)一直秉持營商有道、深信長遠經營的原則:所以即使早前坊間菜價倍升,旗下店鋪的本地有機菜因供應穩定遂維持價格不變,為公司贏盡口碑及銷量。

「疫」勢崛起 以誠信互相扶持

年初時,Duncan知悉本地漁農美食嘉年華在疫情下被迫取消,公司受香港有機資源中心之託,幫忙出售數百斤本地有機新鮮農作物,避免浪費農夫的心血。而為保存食材的新鮮品質,源生坊採用「網購店取」策略,消費者在確認訂單並收取通知後,便可以到源生坊實體店舖領取貨品。此舉不但令店舖的本地農作物訂單飆升6倍,由日常每星期100斤遞升至600斤的量,更成功提升店舖人流、助人助己,跨出公司有機新鮮食材發展新一步。

Health Aims Company

Duncan認為以往本港有機食品巿場因價錢等原因未算大眾化、巿場需求不高,但正在改變。「疫情令更多具購買力的消費者,願意付出更高價錢選購優質有機蔬菜及食品。這類的消費者注重產品功效及合適度,不會過份計較價格上的差異;因此我們亦特別著重員工的專業知識、定期提供培訓,讓員工針對顧客的健康需求作出相應建議,助維護健康。」

堅持專業 打動顧客

源生坊同時會為其5萬會員提供不同的健康資訊,詳細解說公司產品的相關功能及使用細則,並設有互動環節回答及聆聽消費者所需,這些專業貼心措施令公司連續9年獲GS1 HK評選為「貼心企業」。

「曾經有顧客查詢某類產品是否有助抵抗癌症或其他頑疾,我們員工會建議他們必須諮詢醫生意見,絕對不會因賣貨而慫恿購物。我深信,公司誠信和專業員工是源生坊引以自豪的重要商標。」

以科技提升產品可信度、真實性、安全性

有機食品資料的透明度,是建立消費者與商戶互信的重要一環。有13間店鋪的源生坊有近千種有機功能產品,涵蓋有機草本汁、蔬果汁、茶品及雜糧零食等,每件產品上都有明確資料標示,其中逾8成更獲得權威機構的有機認證。

許多顧客除了要瞭解產品功效及營養,亦注重各項有機認證、來源記錄、真偽驗證,確保食品安全。源生坊除了展示國外有機認證,而在包裝自家品牌食品時,就會使用GS1 HK的產品條碼(GTIN),方便消費者獲得可靠及更豐富的產品資訊。

Duncan得知GS1 HK的1QR方案可儲存優惠、認證、追蹤追溯、防偽驗證等關鍵資訊,認為有助提升資訊透明度、加強消費信心。

Health Aims quote

審時度勢 轉型渡難關

公司有計劃待疫情稍緩時,擴展實體店至九龍東、港島西和南,同時會加強網上業務。Duncan回想公司在2019年曾因社會因素而導致門巿停運,其時更因成本價格上漲而錄得約10%虧蝕。及至疫情爆發,歐美巿場的物流供應鏈停頓、外國訂單貨期更長達逾半年,即使產品需求大增、銷量上揚,但仍影響運作。

Health Aims store

「我們應對的策略可說是每日見招拆招、靈活應對,例如近日因有員工染疫以致分揀包裝人手短缺,便要即時抽調門巿人手、安排訂單付運。我們亦積極善用科技、提升效率,譬如增購軟件及軟件授權、好讓各同事能同時使用更多軟件、優化營運。」

危中有機,Duncan亦寄語中小企應趁勢改革轉型:「企業在順境時要變革通常較難,因成本及同事等阻力較大;反而在逆境時轉型的決心和推動力量更大,再加上現時科技成本下降,推動數碼和業務轉型可謂易如反掌,所以我鼓勵同業實踐轉型大計。」

嚴峻的疫情雖窒礙公司發展,但Duncan對未來仍然樂觀積極。「身為老闆應該肩負的責任,該做的、可以做的,我都盡力而為:挽留員工、加強培訓、提供晉升階梯、增加員工歸屬感,我只期望與大家一起共渡時艱。」

相關文章

食店研鎖水燒味即食包 以三頭馬車促增長
香港食物安全中心於2021年的「全港性食物消費量調查」報告顯示,燒味鹵味位居港人最愛次位;另一調查推算港人每年進食66,233噸燒味,數量驚人。難怪唐順興家禽(香港…
米商推糧票NFT 可兌百包米 歷經低潮以創新翻身
疫情初期曾發生「 搶米潮 」,其實米飯作為香港人主食,香港政府有規定保證儲米量夠港人吃15天,亦要求米商確保存貨。迄立香港半世紀的超力國際食品便是本地主要米商…
子承父業有團火 為理想開啟第二人生
由主修機械工程、轉系到電子工程及計算機工程,郭錦記第二代傳人郭宇鈿(Martin)是個大膽果斷、不只滿足於現狀的人:在雙學位畢業後他只短暫涉足IT界,便毅然投身金融業…

置頂

Health Aims

The Key to Growing Organic Business Amid Pandemic: Integrity, Expertise, Tenacity, Agility

Body

In response to the 2-year-long pandemic crisis, Hong Kong consumers have been prioritsing their health concerns and keen to spend more money on the organic and natural foodstuff to boost immunity. For this reason, the 24-year-old Health Aims Organic Functional Food Specialty Shop (Health Aims) has enjoyed more than 10% business growth over the past 2 years. Committed to ethical practice and eyed on long term business, Duncan Ko, Managing Director and Founder of Health Aims, has kept the price of its local organic vegetables unchanged thanks to the stable supply, despite vegetable prices in market spike in previous weeks. This has brought credibility and transactions to the company.

Solidarity and Integrity in Adversity

Knowing that FarmFest 2022 was cancelled because of the outbreak at the beginning of 2022, Duncan was approached by Hong Kong Organic Resources Centre to help sell off hundreds of kilograms of local organic agricultural produce to reduce wastage. To ensure freshness, Health Aims used “Buy Online, Pick Up in Store”(BOPIS) model so that customers would receive order confirmation and pick-up notice before collecting their purchases in store. Besides boosting local agricultural sales by 6 times from 100 catty to 600 catty per week, the BOPIS model effectively drove traffic to store for additional purchase. This in turn builds up a win-win ecosystem that paves the way to new fresh foods business for the company.

Health Aims Company

Due to price and others factors, organic food market in Hong Kong was not popular, but Duncan believes this is going to change. “The onset of pandemic has sparked off a group of consumers with higher purchasing power to pay more for quality organic vegetables and fruits. They prioritise products functions and applicability more than price, that’s why we pay special attention to staff product expertise and offer routine training, so our consultant can offer appropriate healthcare and wellness advice that meets customers’ needs.”

Reaching Customers with Professionalism and Care

Health Aims also provides various health tips to its 50,000 members, detailing the products’ relevance, effects and use directions. The company set up interactive sessions to listen consumers’ needs as well. These caring measures has scored recognition of “Caring Company” by GS1 HK for 9 consecutive years.

“Some customers had asked if our products were good for fighting against cancer or other serious illnesses, we would urge them to consult doctors instead and never encourage purchase just for our sales. I believe integrity and staff expertise are the unique strengths that we are proud of.”

Enhancing Credibility, Authenticity, Safety with Tech

Information transparency is the key to building trust between consumers and organic food businesses. With 13 physical stores, Health Aims holds thousands of organic functional foods covering organic herbal juices, vegetable juices, tea, grocery and snacks. In addition to clear information label on every product, 80% of products obtain organic certification from different authorised bodies.

Apart from product functions and nutritional values, customers tend to examine the organic certification, source of origin and authenticity to ensure the foods are safe. In addition to showing organic certifications from overseas, Health Aims would use GS1 HK barcode (GTIN) during repacking its own-brand products to help consumers get reliable and rich product information.

As GS1 HK’s 1QR solution can register key product information like discounts, certification, track-and-trace and authentication information, Duncan believes it helps promote information transparency and thus consumers’ confidence.

Health Aims quote

Sizing up and Adjusting in Troubled Times for Transformation

The company plans to open new stores in Kowloon East, HK West and South and strengthen its online business once the contagion slows down. Having gone through stores closure due to social movement in 2019, as well as an increase in cost that caused 10% deficit in that year, Duncan has also experienced major disruptions since the virus outbreak - logistics blockages from US and EU that caused more than 6-month of order lead-time and so on, jeopardising operations a great deal in spite of rising demand for products.

Health Aims store

“What we did is be agile, act fast and flexibly to everyday situations. The pick-and-pack centre has been understaffed lately because of confirmed cases, so we can only arrange shop staff to support order fulfillment. We have also been using technology to improve efficiency, for example adding new software and licenses for more crews to use at the same time to improve productivity.”

Duncan encourages fellow SMEs to take this crisis as an opportunity to evolve, “Companies usually meet headwind to changes in good times, because of staff reluctancy and rising costs; but in difficult times, there are greater determination and acceptance to change. Besides, as IT costs are lower today, digital and business overhaul can be done easily, so I think it’s prime time for business to implement transformation.”

Duncan feels discreetly optimistic of the company development, despite the tumult in operations caused by the raging pandemic. “As a leader, I have tried everything in my power to retain staff, beef up training and career prospect, provide security and sense of belonging for them. I just hope we will survive through this and grow stronger in future.”

Related article

Rice Merchant Breaking New Grounds in Hard Times Redeemable NFTs for 100 Packs of Rice
The public had rushed to stock up rice in the early days of the pandemic, in fear of…
Passing the Torch and Pursuing the Second Life for Dreams
After transferring from mechanical engineering to electronic engineering and…
Pharmaceutical Company Defends Reputation and Unearths Market Potentials with Technology 
The pandemic has fueled the community concerns over health and well-being. Seeing a…

Top