2021-Jun-Business-Connect-SCB-Interview-Cover

汇聚数码化、合作及数据 塑造银行业生态

Body

全球新冠肺炎疫情促使企业迫切地加快科技部署,不同行业公司正迈向数码化营运,有的更全情投入发展以提升效率。银行业界亦不遑多让。

渣打香港、台湾及日本区金融交易业务部董事总经理及区域主管安必杰(Biswajyoti Upadhyay)指,总部位处英国的渣打亦正加快数码化步伐,为全球商贸及供应链客户带来最创新的金融方案,应对其财务需要。

「我认为数码基建已普遍形成,疫情只是加速其应用水平。在新常态下,机构由传统交易变为电子交易,而贸易融资界亦已准备就绪。」

数码发展趋势及贸易融资

Trade Finance_ADD FINANCE ELEMENT IN

渣打银行积极善用先进科技,强化其一系列国际贸易及供应链融资服务。开发信用状(LC)、发票融资等众多恒常产品,普遍已可透过网上银行平台完成。银行同时正提升数码贸易融资平台,利用光学字元识别 (OCR)系统将大量贸易文件辨识处理,再透过大数据分析去强化客户业务的支援。

渣打香港同时与GS1 HK合作,利用「通商易」平台,推出数据分析相关的全新服务。GS1 HK专营的「通商易」平台是全港最大的B2B商贸平台之一,拥有逾千名本地及大湾区的买家与供应商的数码交易纪录,每年处理近2,000万项电子交易数据。

EDI

合作项目让渣打香港从「通商易」平台上获得申请融资客户的一篮子与贸易夥伴的安全、可靠的交易数据。「平台帮助我们了解香港该客户业务及资金流的即时情况,有利我们更准确掌握及评估其信贷能力,明白其融资需要,而毋须依赖3-6个月才公佈的客户财务状况、甚至需更长时间核实的中小企财务历史记录。」

「我们认为现在是时候要改变评估中小企财务状况的方式。企业最新的财务报表会反映过去一年因疫情而带来的艰难营商环境及财务状况。与此同时,随着企业陆续重拾正轨,中小企将需要充裕的销售及营运资金流动性。若然我们继续使用传统的财务报表作评估,而非基于最新销售和采购活动,我们有机会未能支援中小企、影响其现金流。」

「项目亦节省了我们与客户的许多时间及人手:过往在申请融资时需挑出大量纸本文件,要花费多日以至数週去处理,但现时只需在单一平台存取便能完成,大大提升我们的营运效率。」

跨境区块链先导项目

除了与业界组织GS1 HK合作,渣打香港亦积极支持政府带头的数码贸易项目,包括是在2018年发起的「贸易联动」(eTradeConnect)先导平台的创始成员之一。该平台是全港首个由香港金融管理局策动的贸易融资区块链平台,能让买卖双方可在单一平台上,实时开立、交换和确认采购订单、发票,乃至融资申请,并且容许交换必要的资讯。

blockchain

在2020年11月,渣打香港成功透过香港「贸易联动」和中国人民银行的区块链平台对接,完成香港与中国内地之间的首批跨区块链平台试点交易。此第二阶段成果非常关键,为未来推出更多跨境银行服务舖路。

「凭藉我们在2018年促成本地企业数码化交易的经验,集团现专注连系香港与中国内地的公共平台,支援进出口商的业务,为促进全球贸易和繁荣持续作出贡献。」

释放合作和数据的力量

银行透过开放式策略,确保任何行业、不论应用任何平台或网络均能获取银行服务,并正与不同平台联手为其用户带来简单方便的供应链融资方案,突破实体及数码界限。

「合作是奠定我们成功的基石。我们与世界各地不同的行政机关及金融科技公司合作,发掘新机遇,促进客户以至整个行业的发展。这有助贸易夥伴加强信任,同时驱动数码化进展步伐、改善效率、降低风险、便利贸易融资。」

Hand

除了数码化,安必杰相信数据收集和分析的能力是业务发展的动力:「数据对任何人而言都是弥足珍贵的资产,而能够撷取数据并将之变成有价值的资讯,便是未来最庞大机遇。」

当越来越多公司在全球巿场中合作及竞争,他们成功与否将取决于其协作能力,以及管理供应链上不同持份者的能力。

2021-June-Business-Connect-SCB-QUOTE

一心做好:10亿美元抗疫融资承诺

有本地中小企开始重拾正轨,但根据2021年第2季「渣打香港中小企领先营商指数」调查显示,综合营商指数仍低于50分界线(42.2),经济展望疲弱。「中小企佔香港企业98%,僱用约45%全港劳动人口,支撑本地经济命脉;所以我们不但提供贸易融资,亦透过一系列服务如短期借贷、按揭、百分百中小企融资担保计划等协助其发展。」

为应对危机,渣打推出10亿美元抗疫融资承诺,向协助前线抗疫的企业提供融资。维达生活用纸(中国)有限公司便成为亚洲区首间企业,成功透过该项目向银行提取2,300万美元贷款。该笔贷款将用于维达在浙江及广东的厂房,投入新设备制造防疫口罩,提升每月口罩产能至700万个。

5

永续性融资

为建设可持续发展未来,渣打近日推出永续贸易融资提案及一连串产品和服务,帮助企业实践可持续经营活动及建立更强靭供应链。渣打在新提案下会为符合永续标准原则的生产商、或对推行绿色采购的零售商提供更佳支援和更佳借贷条款。以「通商易」般的数码贸易平台作为例子,便可透过电子信息交换取代纸张消耗,助减低对环境影响,并支持企业用户达成其环境、社会及管治目标。

Tree

「我们很高兴能协助构建更具永续性、更具兼容性的全球供应链,缔造更公平及更优质环境,造福人们工作及生活状况。」


置顶

2021-Jun-Business-Connect-SCB-Interview-Cover

Banking on an Ecosystem of Digitalisation, Partnership and Data

Body

The global COVID-19 pandemic has pushed business to increase their pace of technology adoption with a renewed sense of urgency. The shift to digital operations is being made across all industries, bringing about a permanent shift and increased efficiency. The banking industry is no exception.

Biswajyoti Upadhyay (BJ), Managing Director, Regional Head of Transaction Banking Sales in Hong Kong, Taiwan & Japan and Corporate, Commercial and Institutional Banking of Standard Chartered Bank (Hong Kong) Limited (Standard Chartered), pointed out that the UK-based bank has expedited its digital strategy to offer clients along the global trade and supply chain the most innovative banking solutions that meet their needs.

“I believe many of the digital infrastructure has been built ahead of time, the COVID crisis just accelerated the adoption of it. The new norm is, businesses are moving away from traditional transaction into electronic transaction, and the trade finance sector is ready for it.” 

The Digital Push & Trade Finance

Trade Finance_ADD FINANCE ELEMENT IN

Standard Chartered has invested in technology to enhance its full suite of international trade and supply chain financing services. Many standard products such as the Letter of Credit (LC) issuances and invoice financing are already done through its internet banking platform. To take the digital trade financing platform to the next level, the bank is mapping massive trade documents with its OCR (optical character recognition) programs to enable big data analysis in order to better support its clients.

Standard Chartered has partnered with GS1 Hong Kong on its ezTRADE platform as the bank’s latest initiatives on data analytics. The proprietary platform is one of the largest B2B trade platforms in Hong Kong, processing more than 20 million electronic transactions each year and maintaining digital records of thousands of buyers and sellers across Hong Kong and the Greater Bay Area.

This partnership provides the bank with the necessary access to the wealth of secured information and business transaction data of a particular client stored on the ezTRADE platform. “Instead of relying on the static financial information that comes in three or six months from client’s financials, and potentially nine to twelve months for an audited financial statement of SMEs, this platform gives us transparency to a client’s business and cash flows in real-time for better evaluation of their credit worthiness as well as understanding of their financing needs.”

EDI

“We believe it is a critical moment to change the way we evaluate the healthiness of SMEs. The latest financial statements are going to reflect the challenging business environment of COVID over the last year. At the same time, as businesses gradually return to normal, SMEs are going to need more liquidity for their sales activities and operations. Unless we move from a traditional evaluation using financial statement to an evaluation based on the latest sales and procurement activities, we would not be able to support these SMEs and their cash flow is going to be impacted.”

“It also saves both the client and us a lot of time and manpower to salvage paper documents in the loan applications, which used to take days or even weeks to process, but are now completed and accessed seamlessly on one single platform. This has significantly improved our operational efficiency.”

Cross-border Blockchain Pilot

Apart from partnering with industry associations like GS1 Hong Kong, Standard Chartered has also actively contributed to government-led digital trade projects. Back in 2018, the bank was one of the founding members of Hong Kong’s eTradeConnect pilot, the city’s first blockchain-based trade finance platform facilitated by the Hong Kong Monetary Authority. The platform allows buyers and sellers to create, exchange and confirm purchase orders and invoices in real-time, share information on a “need-to-know” basis as well as submit applications for financing on one single interface.

blockchain

More recently in November 2020, Standard Chartered successfully completed a cross-border blockchain transaction by connecting eTradeConnect with the blockchain platform run by the People’s Bank of China. It was one of the Phase 2 pilot cases to help establish linkage between the two blockchain systems and was critical for getting the cross-border service prepared for launch to more banks.

“Drawing on our early experience in digitalizing transactions for local businesses in 2018, we are now focusing on bridging the two public platforms in Hong Kong and Mainland China to support importers and exporters. This is part of our continuous effort to promote global trade and prosperity.”

Unleashing the Power of Partnership and Data

The emergence of digital trade platforms like ezTRADE has brought buyers, suppliers, logistics providers together into supply chain networks, and Standard Chartered is determined to leverage on these platforms for growth. The bank is embracing an open banking strategy to ensure that it can support cross-sectoral businesses no matter which platform or network they are using. It is joining forces with various platforms to provide their respective users easier access to the financial supply chain solutions across the footprint – going beyond physical and digital borders.

“Partnership is a big part of our success. We have been collaborating with administrations and fintech companies in different regions to tap into opportunities that are beneficial not just to our clients, but also the business sectors as a whole. It helps to foster trust among the trade participants, with a view to driving digitalization progress, improving efficiency, reducing risks and facilitating trade finance.”

Hand

Besides going digital, BJ believes what fuels the business growth is the ability to collect and analyse data. “Data is going to be incredibly valuable asset to everyone. The ability to generate insights from the harvested data is deemed the most critical opportunity going forward.”

In a more globalized world where more companies are collaborating and competing with each other, their success becomes increasingly dependent on how well they orchestrate different business activities and manage different partners along the supply chain.

2021-June-Business-Connect-SCB-QUOTE

Here for Good: 1 Billion COVID-Financing Fund

Although some local SMEs are already showing signs of recovery, the Q2 2021 Standard Chartered SME Leading Business Index remained below the “bull-bear line” pointing to a stagnant market outlook. “98% of businesses in Hong Kong are SMEs employing 45% of the workforce. So apart from trade finance, we are also supporting them with a range of offerings from short-term loan, mortgage, 100% SME Financing Guarantee Scheme, etc.”

To combat the crisis, Standard Chartered has committed US$1 billion of not-for-profit financing to support companies helping in the global fight against COVID-19. Vinda Household Paper (China) Limited, for example, has received a US$23 million facility from the bank, making it the first company in Asia to benefit from the project. The company has used the funds to support the new face mask production lines at its existing manufacturing facilities in Zhejiang and Guangdong, enabling production of up to 7 million masks every month.

5

Sustainability Financing

To help create a more sustainable world, the bank has recently launched the Sustainable Trade Finance Proposition with a suite of products and services that will help companies implement more sustainable practices and build more resilient supply chains. Under the new proposition, the bank will offer better support and financing terms to the manufacturers that meet the sustainability standards, or for the retailers who carry out green sourcing along their value chain. Digital trade platform like ezTRADE, for example, can significantly replace paper consumption with electronic information exchange, thus helping to minimize impact on the environment and contribute to meeting companies’ own Environmental, Social and Governance (ESG) goals.

Tree

“Echoing our brand promise ‘Here for Good’, we are excited to help make global supply chain activities more sustainable, more inclusive and the world a fairer and better place to work and live.”


Top