Image Slideshow

GS1条码(Barcode)是甚么?如何为产品选择GTIN/EAN/UPC条码?

Body

想在各大零售店将产品上架,你就要为产品申请GS1国际条码。搜寻关键字「条码」,你会见到EAN、UPC等条码种类,这些有甚么分别?国际贸易货品编码GTIN又是甚么?哪些行业需要申请条码? GS1 HK一文详解条码申请知识,还有申请条码的6大好处!

 

GS1条码是甚么?

GS1条码是由垂直的深色线条(通常为黑色)、浅色的空间(通常为白色),及独一无二的GS1国际贸易货品编码所组成。透过扫描器扫描条码,系统会撷取和显示条码上的资料,例如产品名称、批次等资料。

GS1条码为全球供应链建立统一标准,好多行业都可以使用GS1国际编码来识别产品,是产品的身份证。供应链上各个商贸夥伴可准确获取产品讯息,减少人为错误并提高效率。例如零售业利用条码,加速结帐流程,同时也可以清楚掌握库存、核对销售数据等。GS1条码亦被广泛应用于物流运输业,用于追踪货品运输过程,提高物流效率。

 

如何为上架产品选择适合的GS1条码?如何选择EAN还是UPC条码? 

只要可于供应链上被定价、订购或出售的产品或服务,都可以申请GS1条码。其中2项GS1国际贸易货品编码(Global Trade Item Number,GTIN)包括EAN条码(European Article Number)和UPC条码(Universal Product Code),均可应用于全球零售点及电子商务。

GS1条码(Barcode)是甚么?如何为产品选择GTIN/EAN/UPC条码?

EAN条码有分两种,包含13位数字的EAN-13,适合印刷在面积较大的产品上,而8位数字的EAN-8,适用印刷在面积较小的零售商品,例如化妆品。EAN条码已广受全世界各大零售商铺、电商平台所使用。

UPC条码主要在美国及加拿大市场使用,UPC-A条码由12位数字所组成,亦可透过编码技术缩短为8位数字的UPC-E条码。虽然EAN条码适用于全球各大零售点,但仍有少部分的北美公司系统仍在改建,仅能扫描UPC条码,因此有少数想在北美市场将产品上架的企业,仍会申请UPC条码。本会亦提供UPC条码申请服务。

 

可以自行创造GS1条码吗?如何在香港申请GS1条码?

全世界由GS1成员组织所发出的GS1条码都受GS1标准规范。GS1是一个开发及提供全球供应链标准的组织,目前在全球150个国家有115个分会。GS1条码不能随意自行创造,使用未经授权的GS1条码会有许多潜在风险。香港货品编码协会(GS1 Hong Kong)是GS1的香港分会,也是香港唯一提供GS1条码的非牟利机构,目前已有8,000个企业会员。成为GS1会员可享许多会员福利,如参加条码应用教学及数码工作坊、获得最新市场资讯、增加商业交流及配对机会等。本会亦提供会员使用BarcodePlus产品及位置资讯平台,登录产品资讯、生成条码、下载条码图档等相关服务。

 

向GS1 HK申请GS1条码享受6大好处

作为全球贸易的共通语言,GS1条码可以帮你的产品打通线上及线下零售点,拓展销售渠道。


向本会申请GS1条码可获得「489」的香港字首条码。GS1 HK也提供多项方案和服务,例如专利的防伪及追踪溯源方案等,让消费者简单透过手机扫描条码,即时认证产品、打击伪造品、保护品牌。


GS1 HK条码可以同时于香港或全球各零售店、电商平台销售。例如:目前全球大型电商平台Amazon、eBay已明确要求产品上架时,需要提交GTIN作为产品的识别码。而Google亦建议商品在Google购物平台上销售时,可以使用GS1发出的产品条码GTINs,可以有助Google清楚识别你的产品,提供更精准的内容给消费者,进一步提升产品在Google上的曝光度与转换率。想知详情,可参考条码的效益。

 

简单3步,迅速将产品上架

1. 申请成为GS1 HK会员

向本会递交GS1条码申请,使用GS1会员平台、获得市场最新资讯及商业交流机会等更多GS1 HK会员限定福利。

    申请会员     

2. 于BarcodePlus上生成条码

透过BarcodePlus平台为产品生成独一无二的GS1条码,并以其管理产品资讯。

3. 于产品加上GS1条码(GTIN)

将条码加在产品上,即可在实体零售店及电商上售卖产品。本会亦提供条码测试服务。

 

Title

GS1条码常见问题

只有香港制造的产品才可以申请489条码吗?

不是。 不论产品是否在香港制造,在香港注册的公司都可以为产品申请489开头的GS1条码。

什么时候需要为产品申请新的GS1条码?

每项产品都有独一无二的GTIN,因此当新的产品上市,或者产品有重大变动,例如产品容量、产品成分更改、从瓶装换成盒装、限时促销另附上赠品…等更改,上述情形皆 需要为产品申请一个新的GS1条码。 更多关于GS1条码申请详情,可向本会咨询。

BarcodePlus除了可生成条码外,还有什么服务?

BarcodePlus是一站式产品和位置资讯平台,GS1 HK会员可以获得产品编码GTIN、全球位置编码GLN、及上载产品详情、产品图片、价钱等资讯。 GS1 HK会员可以透过平台上完整的产品资料数据库作为商业资讯交流工具;亦可利用平台或搭配本会「1QR」服务,向大众展示产品资讯、相关证书,来加强品牌的知名度,以及提升消费者 对品牌及产品的信心。

如何选择GS1条码生成器?

GS1 HK会员可以透过BarcodePlus平台作为条码生成器来下载产品的GS1条码图档,可以将此图档结合到包装的设计内,或以标签形式贴在包装上。 现时香港有不少公司提供条码印刷等制作服务,亦有部分公司为配合内部需要而购入软件及相关硬件,自行印制条码。

Body

   

成功案例

太空科技变日用品 善用智慧条码推广

疫情持续,家居清洁产品需求大增,威宝(SWIPE)旗下的蓝威宝、橙威宝等产品系列的销量都有显着增长。公司过往每年都会推出新产品,以多元化组合渗透巿场;唯疫情期间…

30年老字号推新包装粥 以新一代1QR助攻

以广东粥品为主打的海皇粥店在高峰期间有超过30间分店,但受疫情严重影响,现时在港澳两地尚余17间分店。公司其后投入更多资源于外卖生意,包括善用外卖平台…

山河亚太有限公司

「我们作为香港品牌,在营商及回馈社会之余,亦希望将本土品牌在全球市场发扬光大。GS1条码能通行全球,助我们在电商上架、亦能提供更多资讯给消费者,以至进行促销推广…

嘉明海产(国际)有限公司

「我们致力为客户提供优质及多元化急冻海产食品,使用GS1全球条码标准及服务,对内不但有助存货管理,对外亦可藉着香港货品编 码协会会员网络推广品牌…

亚太示范电子口岸网络的海运物流可视化计划

背景 港口往往是运输枢纽的首站,亦是承载资讯的关键环节,在供应链上担当着重要的角色。然而,在全球供应链中找 出最合适及准确的资讯来源却非易事…


置顶

Image Slideshow

How to choose GTIN/EAN/UPC barcodes for products?

Body

If you want to list your products in major physical outlets, you need to get a GS1 barcode for your products. When you search for the keyword “barcode”, you will find results for different types of barcodes such as EAN and UPC. What are their differences? What is the Global Trade Item Number (GTIN)? Which industries need GS1 barcodes? Read on to know how to get GS1 barcodes and the 6 benefits of using GS1 barcodes!

 

What is a GS1 Barcode?

GS1 barcode is composed of vertical dark lines (commonly black), light spaces (commonly white) of varying widths that represent digits, and a unique GS1 identification number. By scanning the GS1 barcode, the system could capture and read the data encoded on the barcode, such as product names and serial numbers.

GS1 barcodes establish a unified standard for industries worldwide. Businesses from various sectors can get GS1 barcodes to identify their products. Scanning GS1 barcodes helps units in the supply chain accurately obtain product information, reduce manual errors, and improve efficiency. For example, the retail industry utilizes GS1 barcodes to accelerate the checkout process, ensure accurate pricing, and effectively manage inventory and sales data. GS1 barcodes are also widely used in the logistics and transportation industries to track the movement of goods, and enhancing logistical efficiency.

 

How to choose the suitable GS1 barcode for product listing? EAN or UPC? 

Products or services that can be priced, ordered, or sold in the supply chain can use either EAN (European Article Number) or UPC (Universal Product Code). Both are types of the GS1 barcodes that can be used in physical outlets and e-commerce platforms worldwide. Whether you choose an EAN or a UPC, they are both Global Trade Item Numbers (GTINs). 

How to choose GTIN/EAN/UPC barcodes for products?

The EAN category includes EAN-13, which has 13 digits and requires a larger printing area, and EAN-8, which has 8 digits and occupies a smaller printing area, making it suitable for smaller retail items like cosmetics. They are widely adopted by retail outlets and e-commerce platforms worldwide now.

The UPC is primarily used in the United States and Canada markets. UPC-A consists of 12 digits. The UPC-E allows the use of UPC barcodes on smaller packages where the UPC-A may not fit. It utilises a zero-suppression method to compress the GTIN-12 into an 8-digit format. Although EANs are applicable in most global retail outlets, there are still a few North American companies that are updating their systems and can currently only scan UPCs. GS1 HK also provides UPC for application.

 

Can I generate GS1 barcodes on my own? How to get GS1 barcodes in Hong Kong?

GS1 barcodes worldwide comply with GS1 standards. GS1 is an organisation responsible for the development and maintenance of global standards, including the application of GS1 barcodes. GS1 currently has 110 member organisations in 150 countries. GS1 barcodes cannot be generated in an unofficial way, and using unauthorized GS1 barcodes can lead to losses and other risks. If you need to get GS1 barcodes, you can submit an application to the local GS1 member organisation as long as your products are registered under a company in the region.

GS1 HK, the Hong Kong chapter of GS1, is the only officially licensed organisation with the authority to issue GS1 barcodes. GS1 HK currently has about 8,000 corporate members. Become a GS1 HK member, and you can enjoy services such as participation in barcode workshops, access to the latest market information, and opportunities for networking and business matching. GS1 HK also provides members with access to the BarcodePlus platform where members can register product and location information, generate GS1 barcodes, and download barcode image files, and many more of GS1 HK related services.
 

Benefits of Getting GS1 Barcodes

As the global language of business, GS1 barcodes can be used both online and offline, connecting across sales channels.

You can get GS1 barcode with 489 prefix from us. We also provide various solutions and services, including patented anti-counterfeiting technology and traceability technology. These solutions allow consumers to authenticate products instantly by scanning the GS1 barcode with a mobile phone, combating counterfeit products and protecting brands.

The GS1 barcodes which are issued by GS1 Hong Kong can be used for product listing in both local and global physical outlets and ecommerce platforms. For example, major global ecommerce platforms such as Amazon and Tmall require the input of GTIN for product identification when listing products. Google also recommends using GTIN issued by GS1 when selling products on the Google Shopping platform. GTIN helps Google identify products more accurately and provide more precise content to consumers. Furthermore, it can enhance product exposure and conversion rates on Google. For more information, you could refer to the benefits of GS1 barcodes.
 

Three steps to get GS1 barcodes and easily add GS1 barcodes to your products

Step 1: Become a GS1 HK Member 

Submit your GS1 barcode application to us, enjoy exclusive entitlements as a GS1 HK member, including business networking opportunities.

    Sign Up    

Step 2: Create Barcodes on BarcodePlus

Create unique GS1 barcodes for your products, use the barcode generator to download GS1 barcode image files, and manage product information through the platform.

Step 3: Add GS1 Barcodes (GTIN) to Your Products

Add product barcodes on the products and start selling them instantly in physical outlets and e-commerce platforms. We also provide barcode testing services.

 

Title

GS1 Barcode Frequently Asked Questions

Is it necessary for products to be manufactured in Hong Kong to get a barcode with the “489” prefix number?

No. Regardless of whether the product is manufactured in Hong Kong, companies registered in Hong Kong can get GS1 barcodes starting with "489" for their products.

When should I get a barcode for a product?

Each product has a unique GTIN (Global Trade Item Number) for identification. Therefore, when a new product is launched or when significant changes happen, such as changes in product volume, ingredients, packaging from bottles to boxes, or including additional free items for limited-time promotions, a new GS1 barcode is needed. Contact us for details about the GS1 barcode application.

Besides creating barcodes, what other services does BarcodePlus provide?

BarcodePlus is a reliable product and location information portal. GS1 HK members can generate product barcodes (GTIN) and Global Location Number (GLN), input product details, product images, prices, and other information on the portal. GS1 HK members can utilize the platform’s database function to share product information with business partners easily. GS1 HK members can utilise BarcodePlus and the GS1 HK “1QR” function to showcase product information and related certifications, enhancing brand awareness and consumer confidence.

How do I choose a GS1 barcode generator?

GS1 HK members can use the BarcodePlus platforms as a barcode generator to download GS1 barcodes for their products. These barcode image files can be combined with packaging designs or affixed to the label on the packaging. Currently, there are many companies in Hong Kong that provide barcode printing and production services. Some companies also purchase software or hardware for in-house barcode printing to meet their specific needs.

Body

   

Success Cases

Space Solution-Turned Daily Detergent Uses Smart Barcode for Promotion

As demand spiked for household cleaning products fuelled by the COVID, SWIPE’s…

30-year-old Brand Launches New Congee Pack with New-Gen 1QR Label

Specialised in traditional Cantonese congee, Ocean Empire is now operating 17…

Good Mask

“Profits aside, we like to give back to the society, and make a Hong Kong brand…

Garming Marine Products (International) Co Ltd

“Committed to providing our customers with a diverse range of quality frozen…

Asia-Pacific Model E-port Network (APMEN) Visualisation of Sea Freight Logistics

Background Ports play an important role in the supply chain acting in the first…


Top